Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2022, 09:37 AM
jamesleith jamesleith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Default Can't Delete MIDI Automation Points

Hi I am just trying to delete some automation on the mod wheel of an instrument track (as I have done for years). When I select a bunch of points and hit delete--nothing. When I control click--nothing. I can actually draw new automation w the pencil, but then it KEEPS the old automation as well, and adds the new points, so it's a crazy zig zag. I am using Pro Tools Studio 2022.10 on Mac M1 Monterey 12.6 I am using Spitfire Abbey Road Two strings on track. Any idea? never seen this before. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2022, 01:43 PM
nednednerb's Avatar
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 409
Default Re: Can't Delete MIDI Automation Points

One idea is bad session or preferences.

Happening on all and new sessions?

Happening after backup and clear preferences (using "PT Prefs" you can find mentioned on forum)?

Did you recently do any other updates or changes? Your system sounds pretty "new/up-to-date" so there might be odd things happening between some parts.
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio & testing software / 2nd gig: music software tutoring //
||software: Monterey 12.5.1 | PT Studio 2022.10 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB //
||devices: Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT condenser mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | 32" 4k LG secondary display //
||automation: SoundFlow | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse //
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2022, 02:18 PM
massivekerry's Avatar
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 414
Default Re: Can't Delete MIDI Automation Points

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesleith View Post
Hi I am just trying to delete some automation on the mod wheel of an instrument track (as I have done for years). When I select a bunch of points and hit delete--nothing. When I control click--nothing. I can actually draw new automation w the pencil, but then it KEEPS the old automation as well, and adds the new points, so it's a crazy zig zag. I am using Pro Tools Studio 2022.10 on Mac M1 Monterey 12.6 I am using Spitfire Abbey Road Two strings on track. Any idea? never seen this before. Thanks!
Change the Timebase of the track. (I usually go Ticks to Samples, and then sometimes back) That usually clears up the "can't select MIDI notes or controller data in the edit windows" bug.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

Mac Studio Ultra : 128GB RAM : Ventura 13.0 : Carbon : PT Ultimate 2022.12 : S1. Working out the kinks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to delete automation "points" BLG Getting Started 1 10-05-2020 12:38 PM
Can I Not Stack Automation Points Glo123 Pro Tools 12 13 01-16-2018 05:11 AM
automation points fmilian Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 10-28-2014 09:54 PM
PT 10.3.4 is creating automation points. Rickaudio macOS 7 04-03-2013 02:31 PM
random automation points ... JEdmunds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-01-2002 11:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com