Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2022, 10:42 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 640
Default Audio Routing Issue

Good morning,

I've got a new Windows 10 computer running PT2018.4 and it's wonderful.. I have an MBoxIII and have the PT audio running through the MBox to a pair of monitors.. I can connect my headphones through the MBox jack and hear through the phones.. So that's fine..

I bought a new receiver as well. Nothing fancy.. I have two sets of speakers connected to the back of the receiver. If I open up a youtube video, the audio is heard through the two sets of speaker with no problem.. If I plug the headphones into the receiver, I hear the youtube video no problem.

So....... with my old receiver, I was able to hear PT sessions through the receiver's attached speakers.. Now for some reason, I can't? I don't remember having to do anything special with the old receiver to hear the session audio through the receiver's two sets of speakers, so I'm kind of in the dark.

I thought I might need an RCA connection splitter, plug the one connection into the OUT on the back of the MBox and connect the two connection end into another input on the back of the receiver.. Call it Input B. Well, no PT session audio comes through the speakers. Also can't hear the session audio through the receiver's headphone jack which is what I like to do.

It's like PT is ignoring the receiver entirely.. So I'm wondering if there might be settings I need to change in Pro tools and/or in the MBoxIII?? It seems all I had to do on the old receiver was change which output path was used, that I could either hear through the two monitors, or through the other two sets of speakers.. Anyone have an idea?? I appreciate any thoughts..

Take care, Rich
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2022, 10:48 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,921
Default Re: Audio Routing Issue

Much more detail needed. What "receiver"? exact make/model? How exactly is it connected to the computer? How exactly was stuff connected before and what exact make/model old receiver did you have? What make/model/OS old computer did you have? (A Mac by any chance?).

Pro Tools can only directly send audio to whatever it's PlayBack Engine is, which if it's the MBox 3 it will have no idea there is a receiver or able to send any audio to it directly. So either the receiver before was connected to the computer via USB (but not many support this) and you likely had something like ASIO4ALL installed (if the old computer was running Windows), or you had some sort of outboard connection either analog or S/PDIF from the Mbox to the receiver.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Routing folder issue musicman691 Pro Tools 2020 3 12-22-2020 02:00 PM
AES routing issue in 12.8? ihate100bees Windows 6 02-14-2018 03:31 PM
hearing audio and routing issue madoman Getting Started 6 07-01-2016 10:51 PM
Routing Audio Out of Transfuser Issue DonaldM Virtual Instruments 8 03-07-2014 08:33 AM
routing issue DiogoZiggi Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 12-10-2012 11:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com