Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2009, 11:13 AM
koncur koncur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

When i try to load omnisphere or stylus rmx, session fall down without any comment! I don,t have this problem in previos vershion
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:03 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by koncur View Post
When i try to load omnisphere or stylus rmx, session fall down without any comment! I don,t have this problem in previos vershion

We need more information? what version are you using? what computer and OS version etc.

What do you mean exactly by fall down? a quit? whats happening?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:08 PM
BigEvil BigEvil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 207
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

Omnispere hangs when changing certain presets. I have to close the plug-in and re-open it. I can see some sort of update coming in the near future.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:45 PM
koncur koncur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

Mac OS X ver.10.5.6
Proc. 2x2.8 Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Mem. 6gb 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2009, 01:00 PM
avasound avasound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 40
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

I have analogous problem with Omnisphere and Stylus RMX plus Celemony Melodyne Plug-in!!!
Mac OSX 10.5.6, PT8, HD Accel 3, PPC 2*2.3 G5, 6Gb
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2009, 01:03 PM
JMDNYC JMDNYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 221
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

In the hardware setup do you have the RTAS processor set to an odd number? This make a big difference for me when using Omnisphere. I got that advise from the Spectrasonics tech support person. In fact here is his email:

"Regarding the issues with ProTools, try these tips;

1. In Setup/Playback Engine set your processors to an odd number (if you have four cores, change it to three)
2. Keep your buffer above 512 (or to 1024)
3. Set your CPU limit to 99%

Try those and see if that makes any difference in how Omnisphere behaves."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2009, 01:43 PM
koncur koncur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

I try Your recommendations but steel have a problem! What else can i do?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2009, 01:43 PM
A1's Avatar
A1 A1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 436
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

Make sure you go through all the troubleshooting steps and tips up above.
Trash preferences, repair disk permissions, lower processor count etc.
Also I don't think 10.5.6 is approved by digi yet (although many claim to be using it without issues).
__________________
:+:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2009, 05:47 PM
PhilBuckle PhilBuckle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 725
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by koncur View Post
I try Your recommendations but steel have a problem! What else can i do?
I don't think 10.5.6 is qualified by Digidesign. Could be that?

I have a different system to you: PPC Dual 2.7, OS 10.5.5 HD Accel 2
All Spectrasonics Instruments (including Trilogy) work very well for me.

I never keep Omnisphere active when I'm done with the track. I always deactivate. It's a bit of a CPU hog.
RMX though is working wonderfully well and uses very little CPU.
I only have one processor activated.
I had many problems when I had both selected.
__________________
G5 Dual 2.7 OS 10.5.6 HD Accel 2 192+96 I/O
http://philbuckle.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2009, 06:26 AM
koncur koncur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Spectrasonic problem in Pro Tools 8

i reinstall 10.5.5 this night but it steel not working! All plugs ok but spectrasonics! Wonder why it work before i upgrade to 10.5.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atmosphere crashing PT 7.0..........spectrasonic natural 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-10-2006 06:16 AM
Spectrasonic Atmosphere,Stylus,and NI Kontakt too moonmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-15-2004 04:39 AM
Spectrasonic plugs crashing Accel on a G5 kirkgale Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 01-29-2004 07:08 AM
How many Spectrasonic plugins can I expect? chilisexnbeer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-17-2003 04:02 AM
STYLUS SPECTRASONIC Gabriel Caraballo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-31-2002 12:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com