Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2023, 12:01 PM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Communication problem

Running Carbon with Protools Ultimate 2022.10 since 2 years, I suddenly have a communication problem that cause Protools to stop and ask me to quit because communication with Carbon is lost: error 6129.Never had that before didn't change or install anything new...I'm on Catalina and run 24b/96Khz sessions at buffer 1024. Anybody got this already?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2023, 12:57 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 934
Default Re: Communication problem

You can't have been running Carbon for two years on 2022.10 because that version only came out 3 months ago. So you have changed at least one thing.

In the release notes for 2022.12

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...2-Release-Info


..........Technical Alerts

Carbon Expanded Primary+Expanders firmware update ends up with a cannot communicate error -6129 (iMac Pro 2017) (PT-293350)
If encountered: Accept “Quit” at warning dialog, which quits Pro Tools. Then re-launch Pro Tools to use Carbon Expanded.
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.7, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2023, 02:13 PM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Re: Communication problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
You can't have been running Carbon for two years on 2022.10 because that version only came out 3 months ago. So you have changed at least one thing.

In the release notes for 2022.12

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...2-Release-Info


..........Technical Alerts

Carbon Expanded Primary+Expanders firmware update ends up with a cannot communicate error -6129 (iMac Pro 2017) (PT-293350)
If encountered: Accept “Quit” at warning dialog, which quits Pro Tools. Then re-launch Pro Tools to use Carbon Expanded.
Yes obviously I was saying I’m using Carbon since two years with PTultimate and well with 2022.10 since 2 months. That don’t explain why I get this thing just now. I accept quit each time it happens and reboot Carbon and then Ptools but it goes on again after about 5 to 20 mn.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2023, 02:15 PM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Re: Communication problem

And we’ll as I’m in the middle of a project I didn’t want to go for 2022.12 but then maybe I should try it anyway….
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2023, 02:54 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 934
Default Re: Communication problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by LFO View Post
Yes obviously I was saying I’m using Carbon since two years with PTultimate and well with 2022.10 since 2 months. That don’t explain why I get this thing just now. I accept quit each time it happens and reboot Carbon and then Ptools but it goes on again after about 5 to 20 mn.
The most likely things are:
1) cables
2) something has changed that you are not aware of. Some kind of update to one of the other applications on your machine, which are now putting some stress on the network adapter or cpu. It's pretty hard to find something like this and it can be anything really - something running indexing in the background or trying to communicate to a license server and trying all your network ports.
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.7, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2023, 06:56 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Re: Communication problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
The most likely things are:
1) cables
2) something has changed that you are not aware of. Some kind of update to one of the other applications on your machine, which are now putting some stress on the network adapter or cpu. It's pretty hard to find something like this and it can be anything really - something running indexing in the background or trying to communicate to a license server and trying all your network ports.
I changed the cable but still the same.The only thing new I did is renew my ultimate licence...I checked authorisations on iLok, refreshed the ones needed everything Ok but still the same.It's clearly Carbon and the Mac losing communication for a small amount of time, the net light on Carbon goes off for about 5 seconds then on, Protools want to quit each time it happens.I opened a ticket, will post results when solved hopefully soon.Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2023, 07:18 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 934
Default Re: Communication problem

Yes, a 5 second break like that sounds like a hardware failure (Ethernet on Mac or Carbon) or a loose cable. It doesn't sound like a software issue unless there's something trying to assign or re-assign the AVB address for the Carbon.
I have a Cat8 flat cable and it's a bit loose in the Carbon port for some reason.

If you have a spare Thunderbolt port you could try connecting using that, but it will require spending some money. Assuming you have TB3 ports, then you either need:
1) USB-C (TB3) to TB2 -> TB2 to Ethernet
or
2) Sonnet AVB adapter (USB-C/TB to Ethernet)
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.7, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2023, 10:38 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Re: Communication problem

Finally I installed 2022.12 and it works again.Support ask me to install 2022.12 as well, for information here is what they said:

There's a known issue where the FW was not flagged on Pro Tools (In Carbon Central appears Ok) so, Pro Tools 2022.10 does not recognized it, this was fixed in Pro Tools 2022.12 version.

Thanks Dominicperry for helping!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2023, 03:24 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 934
Default Re: Communication problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by LFO View Post
Finally I installed 2022.12 and it works again.Support ask me to install 2022.12 as well, for information here is what they said:

There's a known issue where the FW was not flagged on Pro Tools (In Carbon Central appears Ok) so, Pro Tools 2022.10 does not recognized it, this was fixed in Pro Tools 2022.12 version.

Thanks Dominicperry for helping!
Glad you got it fixed.
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.7, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2023, 12:09 PM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Re: Communication problem

Well, finally I had the same error again, but I could close Protools and restart both Mac and Carbon, relaunch and it worked good yesterday afternoon and today.This look like a random software/firmware problem, I reopened the case with Avid, they said that some people got the same thing, will see what they say now....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Communication Problem UndergroundLab Eleven Rack 2 03-08-2017 07:28 PM
Mic Pre Communication problem! AlexDC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-01-2010 02:13 PM
003 rack communication problem... fab leseure 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-07-2010 03:52 PM
Communication problem with pre dubtoc ICON & C|24 13 11-18-2008 08:15 AM
002 fader communication problem Seattle Guy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-12-2004 06:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com