Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-19-2023, 10:13 PM
GodRiver GodRiver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Newark, NJ
Posts: 1
Default Re: Communication problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by LFO View Post
Well, finally I had the same error again, but I could close Protools and restart both Mac and Carbon, relaunch and it worked good yesterday afternoon and today.This look like a random software/firmware problem, I reopened the case with Avid, they said that some people got the same thing, will see what they say now....
Hey - I am wondering how you got this issue solved as I am encountering the same thing!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-20-2023, 04:44 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Re: Communication problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodRiver View Post
Hey - I am wondering how you got this issue solved as I am encountering the same thing!
Hello Well this issue didn't show up since about 4 months without changing anything on my system, I'm still on 2022.12...... if you updated to 2023.3 or .6 it could be again a Carbon FW issue, anyway you should open a ticket.Please let us know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-20-2023, 06:19 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 2,339
Default Re: Communication problem

I am wondering if maybe "Reseting" to the default firmware and then relaunching PT (which will force the Carbon to reload the new PT version FW ) might solve the issue ? The procedure to Reset to default FW is found on page 15 of the Carbon Manual
__________________
System :
Studio - Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Mid 2020 (intel) iMac 27" Ventura 13.2 .1
Mobile - 2021 14 " MBP M1 Pro PT Ultimate 2024.3.0 --Sonoma 14.4



Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-20-2023, 06:29 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 176
Default Re: Communication problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
I am wondering if maybe "Reseting" to the default firmware and then relaunching PT (which will force the Carbon to reload the new PT version FW ) might solve the issue ? The procedure to Reset to default FW is found on page 15 of the Carbon Manual
Yes you're right , it's something to try When I had this however it didn't solve the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-20-2023, 07:40 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 928
Default Re: Communication problem

I will admit that AVB seems much more flaky than USB or TB, and Pro Tools behaves really badly when it loses connection to the assigned interface, which other DAWs are less fussy about.....
but....

I still think the most likely candidates for causing this problem are
1) cabling (faulty or just loose)
2) sleep / inactivity timeouts

The only time I've had this problem while a session was up was when I'd put my external screen to sleep. I have everything else on the Mac set to "don't sleep" and I also run Caffeinate all the time, but I still think I get a power glitch when waking the big screen up and that was enough to kill off the connection to the Carbon, which was enough to ruin the PT session. Only a reboot fixed it, which is also odd.

I'd definitely log a case with Avid, they need to know that this still isn't reliable, for whatever reason.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.7, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Communication Problem UndergroundLab Eleven Rack 2 03-08-2017 07:28 PM
Mic Pre Communication problem! AlexDC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-01-2010 02:13 PM
003 rack communication problem... fab leseure 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-07-2010 03:52 PM
Communication problem with pre dubtoc ICON & C|24 13 11-18-2008 08:15 AM
002 fader communication problem Seattle Guy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-12-2004 06:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com