Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2023, 03:58 AM
kt90 kt90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dublin.ireland.
Posts: 25
Default Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

hi people
Ive just purchased an audient iD44 mkii. I am trying to add this to the 003 desk as extra inputs. I have a Toslink cable. connected from the audient out to optical in on the 003. Basically I want to use the preamps from the audient and still have use of the desk for a control surface. Is this possible? Or do I just open the session and use the audient as the playback engine for recording. then when all the audio is recorded change the playback engine to the digi 003.
When I want to bounce down I want to try use the audient converters to compare. Any help would be muchly appreciated. I am using windows 10
Thank you

Keith
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2023, 07:11 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

Here’s the manual for reference. Page 77.

You’ll need to change the hardware setup in Pro Tools to make sure it’s looking at the digital inputs you want.

http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...159.pdf#page85
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2023, 07:47 AM
kt90 kt90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dublin.ireland.
Posts: 25
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

Thank You its2loud. I will have a read and try that out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2023, 11:50 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,377
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

You also need to be prepared for this not to work as you are asking an interface(the Audient) to act as a lightpipe preamp, which it may not be capable of doing. There are at least a dozen lightpipe units designed to do exactly what you need(more inputs) and the range in price from around $200, on up to over $3K. At the bottom end, the Behringer ADA8200 works very well and sounds as good or better than the 003. At the top end is something like the Focusrite ISA-828. In the middle($800-900) is the Audient ASP800(very good) and my favorite; the Midas XL-48(absolutely killer on drums).
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2023, 01:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,733
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

^^^ It will work if you do *everything* properly.

Connect the correct ADAT cables
Have both boxes configured to use ADAT
Have both boxes running at the same sample rate
Have clocking sorted out, to make it easy set the 003 to clock from its ADAT In
Have the iD44 in stand alone mode with its hardware mixer setup to route whatever mic/analog inputs you want to its ADAT outputs.

You have to read the documentation for both boxes and work through carefully doing all this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2023, 08:23 AM
kt90 kt90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dublin.ireland.
Posts: 25
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

Thank you, Albee.

I wasn't aware that you had to have a special light pipe preamp such as the ones you mention. I just thought you could hook up any two light pipe devices. I still can't get audio into either device when I have it set as adat. I will keep on trying and let you know how I get on. If it doesn't work I will just use the audient for recording audio and bouncing down. When I mix I will use the Digi 003 playback engine. If you know a better work around i would be glad to hear.
Cheers
Keith
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2023, 08:37 AM
kt90 kt90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dublin.ireland.
Posts: 25
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

Thanks, Darryl

I have connected everything correctly.
Playback engine set to Audient.
I have the audient set to internal and the 003 set to ADAT.
All sample rates set the same and the clocking comes from the audient.
In this scenario, I get 4 analogue inputs from the audient and that works fine. So when I plug a mic into the Digi 003 preamp 1 and set input on Protools to adat 1 there is no signal coming into the channel. I think its something to do with routing. I'm a bit confused with the audient mixer window.
I will have another read and see if I can get it working. I will keep you informed of how I get on. Thanks again.
Cheers
Keith
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2023, 09:01 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,733
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

What? No, the playback engine had to be set to 003. Your goal is to add the Audient IO to the 003, it cannot be the interface if you are doing this.

If nothing else but to get this clear in your mind, get the Audient in stand alone mode, as I suggested before, that means not connected to the computer via USB and with the mixer routing set up as needed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2023, 09:38 AM
kt90 kt90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dublin.ireland.
Posts: 25
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

Hi Darryl
I will have a look now and let you know how I get on.
Cheers
Keith
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2023, 01:19 PM
kt90 kt90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dublin.ireland.
Posts: 25
Default Re: Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii

Hi folks
I have managed to get audio into a ProTools session as ADAT. I have the iD44 set as master and the Digi 003 as the playback engine. All sample rates bit depth and buffer sizes are the same on each device. Digi 003 clock source set to ADAT. Opened up I/O settings deleted all inputs and outputs then set them both to default. Created 12 mono audio tracks. tracks 1 to 8 corresponded with the Digi 003. Tracks 9 to 12 corresponded with the iD44 with ADAT inputs 1 to 4. All seems to be working well. I will have another play around with it tomorrow. Thank you all for your help. You good good people.
Cheers
Keith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audient Evo 16? EGS Windows 14 02-06-2024 12:18 AM
Digi 003 with Audient iD 44mkii kt90 FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 02-25-2023 07:14 AM
Audient ASP880 in Audient ID14MKII ADAT Weak Signal cj_Db Third Party Interfaces 12 07-07-2021 06:26 PM
Urgent help - audient asp008 aes and digi 192 karljohnson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-09-2010 06:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com