Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2002, 03:16 PM
ccgreg ccgreg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 11
Default 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

I have a friend who has some old 16-track 2" tapes that he wants to be able to work with and overdub to. It occurs to me that the 002 might work if he could transfer 16 tracks at one time into it. It would require recording 8 tracks into the 8 analog inputs and 8 tracks into the lightpipe input.

Is there a +4 balanced line to lightpipe converter available?

He wants to use a PC instead of a Mac.

I have heard some horror stories about 002s not working shortly after a customer takes delivery of them.

How dependable and stable is the 002?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2002, 04:11 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

The Digi002 problem has been resolved so not to worry there. You could do 8-tracks at a time to save money as it is very simple to line the tracks up, but it would be easier to also transfer all 16-at once as well. There are several options to consider here, everything from an Alesis AI3 to a Frontier Tango24 to an RME 8io to an Apogee AD16... and then you can look at A/D only that have preamps such as the Focusrite Octopre and the Presonus Digimax/Digimax LT. How good of converter do you want, what features do you want, and how little do you wish to spend will determine the appropriate options for you.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2002, 04:21 PM
Rock_Artist Rock_Artist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Hertzliya
Posts: 1,482
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

Just keep in mind that you'll be able to capture audio @ 48khz or 44.1khz.

96khz isn't possible through the lightpipe...
__________________
Just wanna do music,
RA.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2002, 05:12 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

Probably the cheapest way to go is the elcheapo Digimax converter, it has only line inputs, no mic preamps. I forget the model, but a quick search of their site will provide you with what you need. It's under $400 as I recall.

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2002, 06:03 PM
GORILLA GORILLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Ma's house...hehehe
Posts: 1,812
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

Quote:
Originally posted by Rock_Artist:
Just keep in mind that you'll be able to capture audio @ 48khz or 44.1khz.

96khz isn't possible through the lightpipe...
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">You can get 96khz thru the lightpipe, just 4 channels worth not 8!!! I know I've done it.
__________________
METAL LABS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2002, 07:51 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

Where,

Just a note, the Digimax is a preamp with digital output from Presonus but I know you know that.... Are you referring to the Alesis AI3? For the money, this is actually a good little interface that provides 8-channels of A/D an D/A via lightpipe for $399 street..... maybe that's the one you meant?
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2002, 09:18 PM
Jerry K. Jerry K. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 240
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

So you guys are saying that if using the adat light pipe in conjunction with the analog ins you can record 16 tracks at a time on the 002. I was unaware or this but that would be awesome!
__________________
Jerry Kelley
jerry@jlkstudio.com
www.jlkstudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2002, 09:29 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

Jerry Jerry, RTFM!!!!
18 i/o, 8 analog, 8 digital via lightpipe, 2 digital via spdif. 8+8+2=18 inputs and outputs. Yes that means you can record 18 tracks simultainously.

RTFM...read the (insert your fav f word here) manual, Jerry.

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2002, 09:55 PM
Jerry K. Jerry K. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 240
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

Thanks for the advice. At the risk of sounding a little stupid, the only reference I can find is on page 136 of the PDF file. I would appreciate any help in locating where it talks about this in detail. This changes everything [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
Jerry Kelley
jerry@jlkstudio.com
www.jlkstudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2002, 06:48 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: 002 Recording 16 Tracks at Once

Product info-002-002 basics.
http://www.digidesign.com/products/digi002/

Second sentence: "Digi 002 offers novices and pros alike hands-on command of any project, easy connectivity via FireWire and up to 18 channels of simultaneous, integrated I/O..."

Reading is fundamental.

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording with instrument tracks and audio tracks Shan B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-01-2011 02:22 PM
Pop at the end of recording tracks dsjjr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-23-2005 09:32 AM
RECORDING 64 TRACKS MORE THAN 90 MIN. RCP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 11-07-2003 05:38 AM
Recording more than 8 tracks at once? moog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 08-08-2001 12:32 AM
Recording automation AT THE SAME TIME as recording tracks mikeb37 Tips & Tricks 3 03-13-2000 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com