Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2007, 01:54 PM
Eddie666 Eddie666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Default Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

Ok so I posted some topics relating to my problems with pro tools. I was running Windows Media Center edition and that was incompatible. So I recently spent an additional 200$ to get Windows XP home edition. I am STILL having the same exact problems as I did before: Audio Clock Source cannot be located, H/W buffer errors, Operating system interrupts 6086. My metronome is running chaotically and not in tempo. I am also unable to use my Axiom 49 midi controller. I am running an alienware 5750 laptop with:
core 2 duo 2ghz 4mb cache
2gb ram
windows xp home edition
60gb 5400RPM internal hard drive


I have been trying to do something with pro tools for about 3 weeks now. I would be very grateful if someone could help me fix this problem. I'm a beginner to production software, but if these problems persist I will probably be forced to get Cubase as I see no other alternative. Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2007, 02:10 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

I gave you a link in this thread for XP Home... $87 bucks.

Are you recording to that 5400rpm system drive?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2007, 02:13 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

You should start with the steps in the Win XP/ Pro Tools 6.x/7.x General Troubleshooting thread and post specific info on your system per the info on that thread if you're unable to resolve the problem.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:31 PM
Eddie666 Eddie666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

These are my system parameters:


< Processor >
Model: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7200 @
2.00GHz
Speed: 2.00GHz
Performance Rating: PR6784 (estimated)
Cores per Processor: 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core: 1 Unit(s)
Type: Mobile, Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache: 2x 32kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way set,
64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache: 4MB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 16-way set, 64 byte
line size, 2 threads sharing

< Mainboard >
Bus(es): ISA PCI PCIe PCMCIA USB FireWire/1394 i2c/
SMBus
MP Support: 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC: No
System BIOS: ALIENWARE 255.255
System: ALIENWARE M5700I-R2
Mainboard: ALIENWARE M5700I-R2
Total Memory: 2GB DDR2-SDRAM

< Chipset 1 >
Model: Uniwill Computer Corp 955XM/945GM/PM/GMS/
940GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed: 4x 166MHz (664MHz data rate)
Total Memory: 2GB DDR2-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed: 4x 166MHz (664MHz data rate)

< Video System >
Monitor/Panel: Default Monitor
Monitor/Panel: Default Monitor
Monitor/Panel: Default Monitor
Monitor/Panel: Generic Television
Monitor/Panel: Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter: ATI Mobility Radeon X1800

< Physical Storage Devices >
Hard Disk: FUJITSU MHV2060BH SCSI Disk Device (56GB)
CD-ROM/DVD: Slimtype COMBO SSC-2485K (CD 63X Rd, 24X Wr)
(DVD 8X Rd)

< Logical Storage Devices >
Hard Disk (C:): 56GB (43GB, 77% Free Space) (NTFS)
RFB (D:): 4.3GB (CDFS)

< Peripherals >
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal
Host Controller - 27C8
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal
Host Controller - 27C9
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal
Host Controller - 27CA
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal
Host Controller - 27CB
USB Controller/Hub: Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 Enhanced
Host Controller - 27CC
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub: Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394
Host Controller
Keyboard: Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/
2 Keyboard
Mouse: Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad
Mouse: HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface: USB Human Interface Device

< Power Management >
AC Line Status: On-Line
Battery No 1: 100%

< Operating System(s) >
Windows System: Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Home 5.01.2600
(Service Pack 2)

< Network Services >
Adapter: Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit Ethernet
NIC
Adapter: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network
Connection
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:34 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

Have you actually tried any of the troubleshooting steps in that thread yet?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:56 PM
Eddie666 Eddie666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

I'm about to. I have to backup all my data first. I'll give an update tomorrow. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2007, 05:35 PM
jazzmandan jazzmandan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Il, USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

I think JMS40 gets the prize! when he asked...
"Are you recording to that 5400rpm system drive?"
I am betting the answer is yes.

I've been gone for sooooo long and when I come back the same problems, some things never change.
__________________
~2004 - Dell 4600 P4 3.0GHz, 2.0 GB Ram, XP Home SP3, 80GB HD for System, 120GB HD for Audio BIAB 2009, Pro Tools 8.0, MBox
09/12/2009 - Dell XPS 435T/9000 i7, 6G Ram, Vista 64 Bit 750 G SATA for System, 1TB SATA for Audio, Protools 8.0.1, MBox
10/31/2009 - Win 7 64Bit
MBox /PT not supported under Win7 - I didn't leave PT, PT left me!
11/30/2009 - MBox, REAPER



http://www.jazzmandan.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2007, 05:43 AM
Diplo Diplo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

Hi.

I read your answer to Eddy66 "Are you recording to that 5400rpm system drive? "

that's what I have on my laptop Inspiron 6400 (Intel Dual Core, 1,66 G) .

I already spent 300 euros extra to increase my RAM and change Windows XP Media Center to XP Pro.

woudl it really make a difference if I buy a external hard drive to solve the 9093 and 9126 errors I get all the time ? ( buffer size problems...)

thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:25 AM
Eddie666 Eddie666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

Quote:
I think JMS40 gets the prize! when he asked...
"Are you recording to that 5400rpm system drive?"
I am betting the answer is yes.

I've been gone for sooooo long and when I come back the same problems, some things never change.


I'm not even able to record. I can't do anything. Does a 5400 RPM hard drive cause a metronome to run chatoically? Is the hard drive RPM somehow linked to the metronome? I'm about to run through all the troubleshooting instructions posted by digidesign tech support so I'll give an update in a few hours. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2007, 08:01 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Total Frustration! PLEASE HELP!

If your metronome is running erratically, you need to apply the Windows Dual-Core Hotfix from the second part of this support suggestion. It is VERY IMPORTANT that you follow the instructions or it will not work.

You definitely need to be recording to a 7200rpm drive to get any kind of proper performance from Pro Tools.

Quote:
woudl it really make a difference if I buy a external hard drive to solve the 9093 and 9126 errors I get all the time ? ( buffer size problems...)
YES!! That's why I mentioned it in my answer to your other post.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SE Frustration Dcader10 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 5 10-25-2012 12:18 AM
Please help me end this frustration jcolagross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 03-14-2011 07:28 PM
Win 7/64 bit and 8.0.4 frustration...In need of help shade of many 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 33 02-06-2011 12:36 AM
Frustration to say the least... mikef585 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-26-2005 01:26 AM
002 for osx frustration shaun hamontree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-08-2003 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com