Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2002, 10:15 AM
Greenshoe Greenshoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 93
Default Recording levels question

I've got a Korg 01/W proX which I use to record drum tracks on the 001. I usually program the drum loops in the Korg sequencer before recording the loop to the 001. The problem is, the gain is much lower on the programmed drum loops than if I record the drums manually. Is there something I can try to change my recording setup? I would rather not use the Gain plug-in (save CPU usage). Any suggestions or help much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2002, 10:59 AM
Styles Bitchly Styles Bitchly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Penthouse Suite
Posts: 388
Default Re: Recording levels question

Are you sequencing within PTLE - physically drawing in notes with the pencil tool? If so, you may have to boost the volume of the midi note. In the edit window, just to the left of the channel, you can choose "volume" (or maybe it's labeled "velocity" I can't remember - anyway it's the one that defaults to "waveform" in an audio track, and "notes" in a midi track.) and raise the levels of the midi notes so that they transmit to the 01W at full volume.
__________________
Due to budget cuts the light at the end of the tunnel will be turned off until further notice.

http://www.gidakdigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2002, 02:00 PM
Chronos Chronos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 34
Default Re: Recording levels question

pump the volume on your korg to the max, then in PT, Normalize to 70-80%.


Chronos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2002, 11:02 PM
Greenshoe Greenshoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 93
Default Re: Recording levels question

Thanks!

Stupid me (or the Korg, for that matter). The default velocity for sequencing drum patterns is 68% (why, I don't know). Cranked the velocity up. Works!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech Question - Recording Levels @ 24-bit rockrev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-05-2005 11:25 AM
Recording Levels jawjam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 08-20-2004 01:32 AM
Question w/ recording vocals? signal levels? rpb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-19-2004 04:12 PM
Recording levels MarkPresti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 31 05-31-2004 07:48 PM
Recording levels Question optymusblu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-18-2003 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com