Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:45 PM
fmckinnon fmckinnon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Saint Simons Island, Georgia - USA
Posts: 119
Default Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks

Hey ya'll -

Ok - I've done troubleshooting for a couple of weeks on this ...

I have a Digi002 w/ PTLE 6.4, running OS 10.3.3 (realize this is unsupported OS).
When I launch PT, I get digital Popping (like clock/sync popping).

Sync is set to "internal"
EVERYTHING is unplugged from the Digi002 except the firewire and power cable

I can create a new session with an aux track (no inputs defined), master fader track, and the clicking/popping begins ... it is very random ... about every 5-15 seconds, sporadic ...

If I create an audio track and record, the pop/click sound DOES get recorded.

MORE:
I've hooked my Digi002 up to my PowerBook G4/500, also with the latest OS 10.3.3 and did NOT get this issue at all, so it's got to be some type of software conflict or something.

I've trashed all digi prefs many times, with no results.

ANYONE know what else I can do, other than reformat the drive and start all over w/ a clean install???

Thanks,
FRED
__________________
Fred F. McKinnon
Highest Praise Productions, Inc.
Christian Praise, Worship, & Multimedia
Free MP3, Leadsheets, Music
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:55 PM
archtop archtop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Stanwood Wa.
Posts: 422
Default Re: Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks

I have to set my clock to optical or I get clicks and pops


but I have 8 channels coming in/out of the light pipe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:14 PM
fmckinnon fmckinnon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Saint Simons Island, Georgia - USA
Posts: 119
Default Re: Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks

Quote:
I have to set my clock to optical or I get clicks and pops but I have 8 channels coming in/out of the light pipe
Hey -
I'm not using 'Optical' because I don't have anything hooked up to Optical ... I was using SPDIF for a verb, but have unplugged all of that - even when I was using S/PDIF, I was using Internal clock, as my exteranal verb required the external clock, so PT was/is set to "internal" clock.

RU saying you use "optical" even if you aren't using anything via the optical jack?

FM
__________________
Fred F. McKinnon
Highest Praise Productions, Inc.
Christian Praise, Worship, & Multimedia
Free MP3, Leadsheets, Music
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2004, 02:36 PM
MoreMeintheMonitors MoreMeintheMonitors is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Ether
Posts: 471
Default Re: Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks

What computer are you running the 002 on? If it's a G5, there are some known issues with the FW bus and power supply on some G5's that cause noise down the FW bus and, thus, through the 002.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2004, 02:37 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks

Hi,
This could also be a hardware thing. I would start by zapping the PRAM, restart your Mac and hold down these keys, Command, Option, P, and R. let your Mac make start up sound for five times than let it continue to start up as normal. If this does not work in could also be a RAM or power supply issue. I suppose you could also be a problem with the FireWire bus on your Mac. Since it is not happening when you use the 002 with another Mac is probably not the 002. Let us know what you find.
Thanks,
Digidesign Tech Support
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2004, 03:40 PM
sdelsolray sdelsolray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 208
Default Re: Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks

Search the DCU for CHUD. It's a package of software development tools for OS X.x.x, one of the tools allows you to turn off the CPU "napping" feature. This is where the CPU, although not going to sleep, "naps" on certain cycles. The Mac always boots with napping turned on. You want to turn it off via this Apple developer tool (which istalls itself into a pane in the System Preference application). The tools come with your OS X CD.

Try it, it might solve your problem.

BTW, with napping turned off, your CPU will run a bit hotter. Also, you have to turn napping off everytime you start you Mac if you are going to record.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2004, 09:23 PM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 752
Default Re: Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks

You have mirroring turned off, right??

Not sure if you are using a mic, damaged mic diaphrams will cause this the second you plug them in.

Just some stabs in the dark here.

good luck.
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-2004, 06:28 AM
fmckinnon fmckinnon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Saint Simons Island, Georgia - USA
Posts: 119
Default Re: Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks -

PROBLEM SOLVED!

The Digi002 was plugged into the lower of the two firewire ports on my Dual 1Ghz G4 (MDD) ... I moved it to the upper firewire port, and the problem is gone ... there must be some flaw in the lower firewire port ... is this a separate bus, or are the two ports on the same bus?

All I know is that when the Digi002 is plugged into the bottom firewire port, I get those clicks/pops ... when I plug the Digi002 into the top port, it goes away.

HOORAY!

Ironically - when I plug the firewire HD into the bottom fireport, it seems to mount and xfer data OK, though.

__________________
Fred F. McKinnon
Highest Praise Productions, Inc.
Christian Praise, Worship, & Multimedia
Free MP3, Leadsheets, Music
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2005, 08:33 PM
Bill Pillmore Bill Pillmore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 38
Default Re: Can\'t solve Clock/Digital Popping and clicks

Do you remember which tool this was?
__________________
Bill
http://billpillmore.com
MacMini 2 Ghz, 2GB, OSX 10.6.4, PT 9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't solve clicks and crackl Wildoer Windows 11 08-27-2011 10:21 AM
Clock issue in cue system .Popping sol_daddy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-25-2011 03:00 PM
MBox + firmware v22 + S/PDIF = clock sync problems (popping) SeasonOfPain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-14-2007 06:37 PM
Digital popping noises llcsi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-09-2007 02:37 PM
Strange Popping Sound on DI...not clock related. Johnny Motel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-18-2007 06:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com