Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S4/S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2021, 10:41 AM
webstereo webstereo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 102
Default Knob and Fader maps - how to define the faders and knobs

I have 24 faders.
When I push custom I can map to the master module fine. But, if I select fader I only have the last 8 faders that turn purple and no knobs. (I don't have knobs above the last 8 faders but do have them above the first 16)
Is there a way to define which knobs and faders can be mapped to?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2021, 12:23 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,560
Default Re: Knob and Fader maps - how to define the faders and knobs

Greetings,

It doesn't matter which Fader module you use to create the custom fader map. Once you've completed your choices and hit done, you should be able to access fader maps via the EXP button from the Process or Channelstrip module (S4),

What system do you have (S4/S6) and what is your configuration? For example, I have S6 composed of bucket 1 options = panner, att knob, post, bucket 2 = automation module + master module, buckets 3 and 4 have fader, knob and process.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2021, 04:00 AM
webstereo webstereo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 102
Default Re: Knob and Fader maps - how to define the faders and knobs

Hi Jeff
Thanks for your reply.
I have an s6. I'm not sure of the correct terms but there's 8 faders x3. Above the first one is a process module and a knob module. The second fader module has a process module and two knobs above it. Then there's the automation module and MTM and then the last set of faders with only a process module above.
So what I am saying is that if I want to map an EQ to faders, then only the last set of faders turn purple to become available to map. These also seem to be the only set of faders that respond once the map has been made.

Previoulsy I did this with Expanded Faders (if that was what it was called) And that seemed to define a certain area on the console to expand.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2021, 06:26 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,560
Default Re: Knob and Fader maps - how to define the faders and knobs

Thanks for the info. So - you can successfully create a fader map for a chosen plug-in using the Fader Module which illuminates purple after you Attention the track and choose custom, yes? You can then restore the map by accessing the Insert / Parameters then pressing EXP - but when you perform the same actions on another fader bucket - what happens? Also - please let us know what version of S6 software you are running currently. Thanks.

Only when creating the map should the system point you to the adjacent Faders and Knobs for convenience to define the map. Once the map exists you should be able to restore it using any of the faders on the desk.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2021, 04:06 AM
webstereo webstereo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 102
Default Re: Knob and Fader maps - how to define the faders and knobs

Jeff
I think I have this figured out now.
I just mapped a Dverb and was able to recall it on another set of faders by holding down the exp button. I assume that's the expected behaviour?
And I have figured out that the reason I couldn't map to knobs seems to be because even though both knob modules turn purple, the only one that accepts input is the top one.
desk version is 2021.6.1.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2021, 12:45 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,560
Default Re: Knob and Fader maps - how to define the faders and knobs

Yes, that's one way. If you want to maintain the granularity of knob expand first then fader expand keep it that way. If you want to always jump into fader expand then enable Settings > User > Auto Expand Functions > Auto Expand Faders.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Knob Fader Maps How to save and recall abx992000 Avid S4/S6 3 11-29-2021 02:15 AM
Faders, Knobs and Transport Bar don´t Work Victor Hugo Artist Series 3 11-15-2014 11:44 AM
Faders and knobs Axiom 49 hallk Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-13-2010 08:49 PM
MIDI Learn for faders and knobs? Troutman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-12-2006 08:25 AM
Faders/Knobs on USB M-Audio Radium dksionzyk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-03-2005 02:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com