Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2021, 11:58 AM
Augusta Global Augusta Global is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Default Control 24 - Seems To Be Shorting Out

Hello,

I have PT HD 10 with a Control 24 connected.

If you look at the picture, the area I have put a rectangle around seems to have shorted out. The entire rest of the unit works fine... faders, meters, everything else works.

If I turn the unit off and on 3 or 4 times, it might start working once and then it seems to short out again. In the area in question, it's almost as if the unit of turned off.

As a side note, I had just added a Eleven Rack to the PT system (Drivers, etc) and then this happened. I don't think the 11R has anything to do with it, but I did want to add this info. I did a fresh install of OSX and PT on a new drive just to see if the 11R install had something to do with it and the Control 24 acted just the same.

Any ideas?

__________________
PT HD 10.3
Control 24
Magma PE6R4-I
1-Core/5-Accel
OS X 10.7
2x2.66 GHZ Dual
96 I/O
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2021, 05:30 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,313
Default Re: Control 24 - Seems To Be Shorting Out

I tend to agree that the 11R is not to blame, but this is going to require some serious intervention to solve. If it were me, I would be turning everything off. Then disconnect and remove the Control24 from the setup. Turn it over and remove the bottom panel and look at the circuit board that holds those controls. Locate every multi-pin connection on the PCB and pull/reseat every connection(at least 6 times). Doing that should scrape thru any oxidation buildup on the pins and sockets(remember that this is the same "vintage" design as the 002, which has the notorious power harness issue). Adding in some good contact cleaner to the process is also a good idea.

I would also trace back to the PSU and if that has a direct connection to the PCB in question, reseat at the PSU too
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVID / Digidesign ICON D-Control 32 Fader Pro Tools control w/ Surround Panner legasafe Buy & Sell 3 07-20-2019 10:54 AM
Hotkey/MIDI Message to switch Touchscreen Softkeys on Artist Control + PT | Control jimmivalentino Artist Series 3 09-07-2017 01:17 PM
Avid Digidesign Control|24 and Sterling Modular Desk Console for Control 24-Separate relaxo Buy & Sell 3 09-05-2013 08:05 AM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 01:51 AM
My C8 Display is shorting out. jpoprock ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 03-10-2009 02:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com