Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2002, 01:56 PM
Eddie K. wannabe Eddie K. wannabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 407
Default weird MBOX fluke 3 times now.

So i just got a MBox to use in conjuction with my digi001. Everythings been great so far. I got it friday along with a new 700Mhz ibook, in an hour i had the ibook up and running and successfuly transfered my digi001 files (Via firewire)to the ibook, open the sessions and evrythings great. In case your wondering how performance was, i can get 24 tracks and at least 8 plugins before i start to notice any system fatigue. (brand new ibook with nothing installed except protols and maxed out just for protools). I'm one happy consumer when i notice something a little weird. When i start the computer with the mbox pluged in, i open a PT session and hit play, i get a crackling sound and no distinguishable audio. So i disconnect and then re-connect the mbox USB and the problems gone. What up digi? Am i doing something wrong please help, not a big problem but I thought i'd post it. BTW I love my Mbox
__________________
PowerMac G4/1.2ghzPowerLogix
Panther OSx 10.3.4
Digi002/Protools 6.4/DVtoolkit
Certified Protools6.x Post-Production Operator
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2002, 02:33 PM
Vito Voorheis Vito Voorheis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 47
Default Re: weird MBOX fluke 3 times now.

I love my mbox too! I am pretty sure that your problem is an easy one to fix... I believe that all you have to do is upgrade the firmware o nthe mbox and presto no more problem. http://www.digidesign.com/downloads/mbox.html

Hope that fixes it for you good luck [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

-Vito
__________________
We are the music makers...
...We are the dreamers of dreams
-Willie Wanka
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2002, 10:01 PM
Compression Records Compression Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 366
Default Re: weird MBOX fluke 3 times now.

I have the same problem. Firmware is updated and so is the updated USB extension that Digi posted on their site. The problem is always resolved by quitting Pro Tools, disconnecting the Mbox from the USB port, reconnecting and relaunching. Quite a cork! I've found that if you start the computer with the Mbox disconnected and then you connect it when the finder is fully loaded, then the problem does not manifest nearly as often. Any word from DIGI? Thanks,
__________________
Marco Marinangeli
Magelic Productions, Inc.
Compression Records
http://www.compressionrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2002, 10:52 PM
czar czar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Queens, MF!
Posts: 10
Default Re: weird MBOX fluke 3 times now.

That's just the way it is for ibook users until digi solves this problem.
Just like Marco says-
1. Start cpu
2. Plug in Mbox ( I find usb port 2 works better)
3. Open PT
Maybe when we get 32 tracks we'll also get better usb drivers.
__________________
www.monkeyboystudios.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2002, 05:23 AM
vf124 vf124 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Inside Puter
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: weird MBOX fluke 3 times now.

Quote:
When i start the computer with the mbox pluged in, i open a PT session and hit play, i get a crackling sound and no distinguishable audio. So i disconnect and then re-connect the mbox USB and the problems gone. What up digi?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Man, Digi's been aware of this since March...it took two minutes to find these in the DUC search...

http://duc.digidesign.com/cgi-bin/ub...;f=24;t=010464

http://duc.digidesign.com/cgi-bin/ub...;f=24;t=010438

http://duc.digidesign.com/cgi-bin/ub...;f=24;t=010567

This issue is beginning to remind me of "where's the 001 firewire & why is there no Pro Tools OSX?"...
__________________
A Blues Harp and PowerBook is all I need ... along with Analog Signature Pack & BlueTubes 3.0 !!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluke 114/115 for interface calibration, good enough ? Loudyman General Discussion 15 11-11-2012 01:32 AM
Plug-in Weirdness / PT Fluke? . . . I need Help Badly. UnlikeKurt Tips & Tricks 3 01-20-2008 01:04 PM
weird error that pops up at random times JAEPILLA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-27-2006 07:55 AM
Kontakt midi channel fluke TIMOTHY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-07-2002 08:21 PM
Mbox times 2? tsugi General Discussion 9 03-15-2002 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com