Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2022, 06:09 PM
Dave S. Dave S. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 75
Default Pre & post roll

Is there a way to automatically enable pre-and post roll while recording and then have it turn off automatically for regular playback?
__________________
Dave

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12 / OSX Monterey 12.6.2
Avid HD Omni / HD IO 8x8x8 / HDX Sonnet Echo Express 3
iMac Pro 3GHz, 10 Core, 64 GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2022, 06:43 PM
nednednerb's Avatar
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 622
Default Re: Pre & post roll

I don't know of a built-in option for that in PT.

However, Keyboard Shortcuts in ProTools could be disabled for your favorite "Start Recording" and "Stop Recording" key commands.

Then, SoundFlow could take over those commands, so you use the same as default, to run the same as default, PLUS any other actions you want to happen when you start or stop recording.

I don't know your exact recording scenario, so maybe you can take the above and work something out. You could issue command to Stop Transport, turn Pre-Post Roll off after the length of the post-roll transpires, then it seems that might be what you describe.

If you're hesitant to use SoundFlow, I recommend checking out some of what it can do.
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio voiceovers & testing software | 2nd gig: music software tutoring | hobby: electronic music //
||software: Sonoma 14.2 | PT Studio 2023.12 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB | OWC Thunderbolt Hub and Thunderbolt 3 Dock //
||devices: RME Babyface Pro FS | Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | Sennheiser HD 600 HP // Onkyo TX-8220 SR
||automation: SoundFlow | Stream Deck+ | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse | MacOS Shortcuts //
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2022, 08:44 AM
Dave S. Dave S. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Pre & post roll

I haven’t messed with sound flow yet, but that sounds like a great idea. Thanks for the tip.
__________________
Dave

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12 / OSX Monterey 12.6.2
Avid HD Omni / HD IO 8x8x8 / HDX Sonnet Echo Express 3
iMac Pro 3GHz, 10 Core, 64 GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get rid of pre-roll and post-roll section from transport TerrainVagues macOS 2 03-30-2018 01:20 PM
Pre-roll/post-roll appears to be broken in PT10 anodecathode macOS 1 02-20-2012 01:33 PM
Pre-roll doesn't work but post-roll does :confused: pennard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-06-2009 11:26 PM
Pre roll and Post roll keyboard commands? Bob L 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-30-2007 07:46 AM
pre & post roll on punchin- not getting any pre-roll! mp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-22-2003 07:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com