Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2020, 11:18 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,870
Default Cleaning faders?

I have a sticky fader (the first one, naturally), often loses motor control and doesn't output any data until it hits the very top of travel and that usually kicks it back to life. Any use in exploring fader cleaning somehow? Back in the day Colclean used to work wonders sometimes on electrical stuff, but a) I don't know if it still exists or what its replacement might be, or b) if its safe to use on an Artist Mix anyway.

Obvs I can sent it for repair, but thought I'd check this first. Thanks!
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2024 Ultimate; W11 Pro; Ryzen 9 7900; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Macbook Air M2; 24gb RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2020, 06:48 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,390
Default Re: Cleaning faders?

HTH...
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2020, 01:17 AM
ALSTUDIOS ALSTUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: REGENSDORF
Posts: 78
Default Re: Cleaning faders?

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
I have a sticky fader (the first one, naturally), often loses motor control and doesn't output any data until it hits the very top of travel and that usually kicks it back to life. Any use in exploring fader cleaning somehow? Back in the day Colclean used to work wonders sometimes on electrical stuff, but a) I don't know if it still exists or what its replacement might be, or b) if its safe to use on an Artist Mix anyway.

Obvs I can sent it for repair, but thought I'd check this first. Thanks!
Hi
Had same issue after droping some coffee over the Artist Mix

After cleaning the surface, I sprayed WD40 into the rails of all the faders and let the testprogram run for some time. (You know - move faders up and down automatically). It worked afterwards as expected.

If you have really issues, open the device and clean the fadertrail (as well with WD40). Should work as well.

Otherwise.....by a new one...


Cheers
__________________
****************************************
ALSTUDIOS REGENSDORF SWITZERLAND
[email protected]
https://sites.google.com/site/alrecordingstudio/
1pc AVID Artist Control and 1pc Euphonix MC Mix
Win11 64Bit, Cubase Pro 12.0.52
****************************************
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2020, 06:21 PM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 434
Default Re: Cleaning faders?

No.

No.

No no no no no.

WD40 is “water displacement formula #40”. It’s not a fader lube. If the fader is sprayed with WD40, it will appear to be better for a time... until it clogs up worse than it ever was when the dust bunnies grow with the WD40 stuck in there. Total pain to remove. Use proper fader cleaning materials from someone like CAIG or MG Chemicals. But before doing ANYTHING with fluid, try compressed air... you may fix it, but you may also make it worse if you blow the dust bunnies INTO the brushes instead of AWAY.

Proper way to do it is the disassembly from your first reply. Disassembly is a pain, but if you can get it back together and you don’t have spare parts left over, your unit should work like new again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2020, 02:33 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Cleaning faders?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neale View Post
No.

No.

No no no no no.

WD40 is “water displacement formula #40”. It’s not a fader lube. If the fader is sprayed with WD40, it will appear to be better for a time... until it clogs up worse than it ever was when the dust bunnies grow with the WD40 stuck in there. Total pain to remove. Use proper fader cleaning materials from someone like CAIG or MG Chemicals. But before doing ANYTHING with fluid, try compressed air... you may fix it, but you may also make it worse if you blow the dust bunnies INTO the brushes instead of AWAY.

Proper way to do it is the disassembly from your first reply. Disassembly is a pain, but if you can get it back together and you don’t have spare parts left over, your unit should work like new again.
Can’t help thinking that if you’re taking the unit apart you might as well just replace the fader with a new one. They’re like £38.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2020, 04:30 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,870
Default Re: Cleaning faders?

Belated thanks to all. I know Colclean used to be very safe on electrical stuff (unlike WD40) - something like that is the only thing I'd risk trying cos I don't trust myself to take the thing apart and then have it back in one piece! Has no-one tried something like that?

I know Lee Electronics in the UK will swap out for a new fader, but its quite pricey and I'd be without the unit for a while.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2024 Ultimate; W11 Pro; Ryzen 9 7900; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Macbook Air M2; 24gb RAM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2020, 11:26 AM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 81
Default Re: Cleaning faders?

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Belated thanks to all.
I know Lee Electronics in the UK will swap out for a new fader, but its quite pricey and I'd be without the unit for a while.
As Neale said above... try the compressed air first!
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EUCON Faders Off also sets Control app faders to -Inf? XJENSEN Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 1 01-26-2020 02:55 PM
Cleaning Control 24 faders? LDS ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 04-12-2017 07:03 AM
Avid/Digidesign Pro Control 16 Faders (Main Unit + 8 faders pack) Eduardo Apolonia Buy & Sell 3 11-24-2015 09:56 PM
USING MIDI FADERS TO CONTROL PRO TOOLS FADERS.... domsound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-08-2004 07:06 PM
Cleaning Faders and Pots R SCHLESINGER ICON & C|24 0 08-31-2002 08:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com