Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2009, 04:57 AM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 933
Default 64GB RAM On A Motherboard? Ion 64 w/64GB Ram.

Just reading up on new gear and noticing the Ion 64 computer from Rain Recording which can accommodate up to 64GB of RAM should the user choose to install it. Just out of curiosity, I did some Google searches and couldn't come up with any motherboards (except for one Tyan) that could take up to 64-128GB.

So, since Win7 64 is able to load Pro-Tools LE w/USB Devices (supposedly), is anyone using PT with 32GB or more of RAM? YES, PT is still a 32 Bit App and can only address 4GB, but VI performance must be impressive on a 32GB Ram + System!
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2009, 05:12 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,641
Default Re: 64GB RAM On A Motherboard? Ion 64 w/64GB Ram.

Yes, if the 64bit VI can run outside of the PT application or we see RTAS come of age. But not on the 003 yet. Digi has anounced that 64bit drivers are coming at a time to be announced.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2009, 08:14 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,980
Default Re: 64GB RAM On A Motherboard? Ion 64 w/64GB Ram.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Yes, if the 64bit VI can run outside of the PT application or we see RTAS come of age. But not on the 003 yet. Digi has anounced that 64bit drivers are coming at a time to be announced.
i am chomping at the "bit" for 64 bit compatibility. It is time Digi, just do it.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2009, 10:42 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,411
Default Re: 64GB RAM On A Motherboard? Ion 64 w/64GB Ram.

I'm anxious to see how this plays out too, but in Digi's defense "just do it" is a bit over-simplified. You can't just pull something like this out of thin air.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2009, 11:54 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,980
Default Re: 64GB RAM On A Motherboard? Ion 64 w/64GB Ram.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
I'm anxious to see how this plays out too, but in Digi's defense "just do it" is a bit over-simplified. You can't just pull something like this out of thin air.
...or can you???
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can An Asus P5K Be Expanded To 32GB or 64GB? epu General Discussion 5 09-14-2009 07:26 AM
Motherboard JEromeo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-30-2003 10:24 PM
What motherboard should I get? 2Sick Music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 07-18-2002 11:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com