Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2007, 06:30 PM
Johnny O Johnny O is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Default Monitor Bus problem when routed through stage rack?

Hi,

We are having some difficulty making the monitor bus send level out of a stagerack output, into an wireless IEM transmitter. The Monitor bus itself is working, and also working fine through the actual monitor outputs on the FOH rack, however when we patch the monitor bus in the patchbay out of a stage rack analog output, we get nothing. I have used this function before, and am stumped as to what we could be doing differently. Any Ideas??

My monitor engineer is also curious as to why he cannot invert the polarity on an input, then make a stereo pair with that input and another, without the polarity being reversed back to normal.

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2007, 05:51 AM
eytan eytan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: Monitor Bus problem when routed through stage rack?

Hi,

I have another question regarding stereo channels. Is there some way to mute one of the two inputs and to pan the other remaing input to the center? I wanted to do this when one of the inputs (of a stereo channel) was noisy and I wanted to mute it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2007, 08:49 AM
musicman476 musicman476 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 31
Default Re: Monitor Bus problem when routed through stage rack?

Quote:
Hi,

I have another question regarding stereo channels. Is there some way to mute one of the two inputs and to pan the other remaing input to the center? I wanted to do this when one of the inputs (of a stereo channel) was noisy and I wanted to mute it.
Perhaps Sheldon has a better answer, but if you have two open mono input channels, that is probably the best way to accomplish what you're wanting.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:52 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Monitor Bus problem when routed through stage rack?

Hi Johnny,

Any chance the monitoring level control (near the top of the console) is turned down? This control sets the level for all monitor outputs, including the dedicated FOH Rack outputs and any Stage rack outputs that are soft-patched to the Monitor bus.

Quote:
My monitor engineer is also curious as to why he cannot invert the polarity on an input, then make a stereo pair with that input and another, without the polarity being reversed back to normal.
When making a stereo pair the right channel adopts the left channel's parameters, including polarity. Part of the reason for this is that a stereo channel is represented as a single strip w/ a single set of controls, so there's no way on the control surface or software to indicate to the user that there's a discrepancy between the two channels (e.g, one has polarity flipped).

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2007, 09:55 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Monitor Bus problem when routed through stage rack?

Hi Eytan,

Quote:
Is there some way to mute one of the two inputs and to pan the other remaing input to the center? I wanted to do this when one of the inputs (of a stereo channel) was noisy and I wanted to mute it.
There's no way to do this on the channel strip itself; however, in an emergency situation like this I'd go straight to the patchbay and assign the remaining good input to both sides of the stereo channel.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2007, 04:39 PM
Johnny O Johnny O is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Monitor Bus problem when routed through stage rack?

The Trim level was not down. However, we think we have found a problem with the stage rack output card we were using. We are going through our console provider to get the problem taken care of. We are however also experiencing some extraneous fluttering type noises in input channels where plug-ins are inserted, even when there is no signal source plugged into the input. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2007, 04:50 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Monitor Bus problem when routed through stage rack?

Hi Johnny,

Glad to hear you've tracked it down.

Quote:
We are however also experiencing some extraneous fluttering type noises in input channels where plug-ins are inserted
Does the noise go away when the plug-in is bypassed? And which plug-in(s) are causing this effect? Some of the "vintage" plug-in emulations also emulate the low level noise inherent to the original device.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Monitor problem fustrun Eleven Rack 1 06-10-2011 06:02 PM
Record form Mix Rack & Stage Rack into 1 Pro Tools system kwz VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 01-04-2011 12:10 PM
Monitor stage box split using venue. borez VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 11-10-2010 08:45 AM
Stage rack problem gbranch VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 04-05-2010 02:16 PM
Losing stage link to 2nd stage rack sonicboost VENUE Live Sound Systems 7 11-15-2009 01:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com