Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2024, 04:28 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,044
Default Alesis MultiMix / windows 11

good evening everyone.


My buddy has a MultiMix 4 USB running on Windows 11.


Man we tried everything, even downloaded an ASIO driver to get it to work.


Mic, mixer signal out is good. In PR Tools the I/O interface shows the two channels, and not greyed out and can select either of the two input.


Armed and yet no Meter signal, whether input is on or off while recording there is nothing.


In the hardware tab, windows device option selected and then go to the interface and the Alesis is grayed out. When we choose the ASIO in the hardware tab, Pro Tools will let you pick a channel in the interface tab and not grayed out, but no signal?


Please forgive me, and yes I should have researched, and read the Manuel, but my rig is Mac and I have no idea how windows is setup. I tried looking through youtube clips and no luck, but from what I read on Alesis's site is that no drivers are needed, and plug and play.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MONTEREY 12.7.4- PT 2024.3 / 003 RACK SIGNATURE MOD / DIGIMAX FS / PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 04-15-2024 at 04:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2024, 06:07 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,362
Default Re: Alesis MultiMix / windows 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
In PR Tools the I/O interface shows the two channels, and not greyed out and can select either of the two input.


Armed and yet no Meter signal, whether input is on or off while recording there is nothing.


In the hardware tab, windows device option selected and then go to the interface and the Alesis is grayed out. When we choose the ASIO in the hardware tab, Pro Tools will let you pick a channel in the interface tab and not grayed out, but no signal?
This is confusing to me. Here is how I would troubleshoot:
1-Go to Windows Sound Properties and set Windows to use the on-board sound card(Realtek?) as its default playback device(this leaves the MultiMix for Pro Tools-only).
2-open Pro Tools and hold the N key so it takes you directly to the audio engine setup page and select the MultiMix. If the MultiMix is not an option, re-install the MultiMix ASIO driver(assuming there is one). If there isn't a driver specific to that mixer, you could try using ASIO4ALL(a free "universal" ASIO driver). That might work, but is a band-aid at best. You might have more success using an interface with a proper driver(Alesis and Focusrite both offer good options for fairly cheap)
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2024, 07:46 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: Alesis MultiMix / windows 11

Thank you albee1952


Appreciate your time. I will give it a whirl.


Have a great evening.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MONTEREY 12.7.4- PT 2024.3 / 003 RACK SIGNATURE MOD / DIGIMAX FS / PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 with Alesis Multimix 8 USB on Windows? jimlad Windows 0 02-19-2012 04:33 PM
Alesis Multimix 4 USB Toolbar Pro Tools 10 0 12-01-2011 06:49 AM
Alesis Multimix 16 dolgand Pro Tools 9 0 11-17-2010 03:28 AM
Alesis Multimix 12 USB StinkyPete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-07-2010 06:11 PM
Using Alesis Multimix FW 16 with PT M-Box foxlemieux 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-01-2005 01:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com