Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2009, 07:44 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,063
Default Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

Available for download from the following page:
www.digidesign.com/download/pt803
Quote:
Pro Tools 8.0.3 — Downloads & Details

December 15, 2009 — In our ongoing effort to provide you with the best experience possible, Avid has released Pro Tools 8.0.3, a free software update that provides many fixes. For more information, download the Pro Tools 8.0.3 Release Notes PDF below.

Pro Tools 8.0.3 is a free update for all Pro Tools 8 owners. Version 8.0.3 supports the following operating systems:
Mac OS X 10.6.1 – 10.6.2 (Snow Leopard)
Mac OS X 10.5.5 – 10.5.8 (Leopard)
Windows XP (Home or Professional, 32-bit)
Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (32-bit)
Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (64-bit) – Pro Tools M-Powered Essential only
Windows 7 (32 and 64-bit) – Pro Tools M-Powered Essential only (Pro Tools HD, LE, and M-Powered can be used on Windows 7 as a public beta)
Please Note: Pro Tools 8.0.3 software (and higher) does not support some retired products:
Original Mbox
Expansion|HD Chassis
Macintosh PowerPC Computers
Please read the EOSS (End of Software Support) Announcements for more information.


Pro Tools 8.0.3 Updates for Mac OS X — December 15, 2009
For Pro Tools 8.0.3 details and downloads, see the following pages:
Pro Tools HD 8.0.3 Update for Mac OS X
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3 Update for Mac OS X
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.3 Update for Mac OS X


Not Yet Available — Coming Soon
Pro Tools HD 8.0.3 Update for Windows
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3 Update for Windows
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.3 Update for Windows
Pro Tools M-Powered Essential 8.0.3 Update for Windows
Pro Tools M-Powered Essential 8.0.3 Update for Mac OS X
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.4 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2009, 08:40 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

Good spot..

Not for windoze yet, huh..

Well... We know who they love....
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2009, 08:50 AM
Gemylon's Avatar
Gemylon Gemylon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 820
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

So...

This actually means Digi now QUALIFIED ProTools 8 with Snow Leopard.

I mean really QUALIFIED ???

I never thought It would come out,
so I was kind of settled with 10.5.

Then we should just ignore this outdated page, I guess...



Nice for Christmas !


G
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.5 / MetricHalo ULN-8 / AVID Console C|24 / DynAudio BM15A + BM6A / Universal Audio 6176 / Safe Sound Audio - D.Toolbox /
TASCAM 85-16B / BeesNeez Lulu Fets + Arabella PS + U47 Fet / Softube Console 1 / UAD 2 - Octos and Apollo Twins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2009, 09:42 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,063
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemylon View Post
So...

This actually means Digi now QUALIFIED ProTools 8 with Snow Leopard.

I mean really QUALIFIED ???

I never thought It would come out,
so I was kind of settled with 10.5.

Then we should just ignore this outdated page, I guess...



Nice for Christmas !


G
The next few weeks will tell how well this update works. Any early adopters out there? I know that there have been lots of people "chomping at the bit" to get this, especially those that bought a new Mac that came with Snow Leopard and could not downgrade to Leopard. I'm in the middle of a project right now so it is not a good time for me to upgrade and try. I've had my Snow Leopard install disc in the drawer waiting for this but it will be at least another week before I can risk the downtime if it doesn't go well. I'll keep checking here to see how others are doing with it so please report your experiences.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.4 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2009, 09:44 AM
Doug Ring Doug Ring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Posts: 767
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

Yep, funny how they hid it away. I was expecting a big announcement and maybe a personal e-mail... Maybe that tells us something about the readiness of 8.03...

And they must have released it in the middle of the night USA time, because here in the UK I found it when I came into work at 0830 with absolutely no reaction anywhere on the board. I thought somebody somewhere had to have seen it! Next time I'll blow the whistle myself...

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2009, 09:54 AM
Kling3 Kling3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 378
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Ring View Post
Yep, funny how they hid it away. I was expecting a big announcement and maybe a personal e-mail... Maybe that tells us something about the readiness of 8.03...

Doug
Hid it away? Its at he top of this forum's page. It just came out 3:09am today...? I'm just sayin.
__________________
002r/MacPro 2.8/8-core/10.6.4/PTLE 8.0.4/two internal 500gig drives/8GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2009, 09:55 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

Definitely odd how they just dropped it into the stickys on the DUC..

I figure maybe for 2 reasons:
They want some final beta testing from real users..

They don't want the full onslaught of braying from the windoze users for "64 bit windoze 7 support"
All I can say is that copy of SL that I bought when 8.0.3pr was released might finally get installed now..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2009, 10:02 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,063
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
Definitely odd how they just dropped it into the stickys on the DUC..

I figure maybe for 2 reasons:
They want some final beta testing from real users..

They don't want the full onslaught of braying from the windoze users for "64 bit windoze 7 support"
All I can say is that copy of SL that I bought when 8.0.3pr was released might finally get installed now..
Same here about the copy of Snow Leopard sitting in the drawer for months finally getting ready to be installed. I was actually pretty proud to blow the whistle on this one before you flommer. I woke up and checked the DUC and noticed that the "Mac Mixes" sticky wasn't first any more, which is the first clue that something was new. I quickly checked to see if anyone else had posted the announcement and when I didn't see it, I wanted to be first to blow the whistle. I'm hoping it works well. I wonder if it fixes the AIR plugins 'yellow' issue or if that is a separate update on the plugins themselves.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.4 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2009, 10:11 AM
RaySoul RaySoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: L.A.
Posts: 823
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
I know that there have been lots of people "chomping at the bit" to get this, especially those that bought a new Mac that came with Snow Leopard and could not downgrade to Leopard.
I don't understand why so many people think this. I have a new Nehalem Mac. Came installed with 10.6.2. Currently running 10.5.8...

On the other hand, maybe someone can offer why running SL is even important right now. PT isn't 64 bit yet...
__________________
"I'm not really HoboSoul™, but I play him at the DUC..."
Mac Pro 12Core 3.46G (5.1) | 64G Ram OSX 10.11.6 | PTHDN/OMNI/Apogee Duet(non Avid) 10.3.6 / 11.3.1

Need mixes, mastering, guitar, keyboard or bass parts added to your tracks? Need custom songs/music written and produced for special occasions? Check out The Soundz Shop. Great work by pros with multi-platinum experience at excellent prices...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2009, 10:12 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Protools for Snow Leopard Out Now!

I s'pose I should get my "OMG!" in now while the getting's good.

Though I still haven't purchased SL yet for fear that I might lose support for a few other pieces of software. I'm also not too excited about migrating 65GB worth of BFD2, among other things.

Either way, it looks promising, and it's nice that they came out with both an HD and LE version. Last time around,(for 10.5) they came out with an HD release a good month or so before LE. I kinda want to tease Windoze users a bit, too. :P
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 7.4 work with Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard daveshow Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 9 07-06-2013 08:11 PM
protools le 7,4.2 and snow leopard how do i fix it? flacosax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-28-2012 12:15 PM
Protools 8.0 LE & Snow Leopard 10.6.8? Orange33 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-22-2011 10:24 AM
Snow Leopard and Protools 7 shadowchild 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-22-2009 07:18 AM
snow leopard and protools le-thoughts? djkiller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-03-2009 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com