Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2009, 12:08 PM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 796
Default Snow Leopard - any news?

Hi all, I've just logged back on to the DUC after being away for a while.

Any news on Snow Leopard compatibility?

The official Digi SL pre release runs worse than the earlier versions.



So are any of the SL problems fixed in the last two months or are we still waiting for the same ole, same ole.......

Mac have taken firewire ports off the macbooks, changed the operating system - pretty soon the only way to run protools will be to buy a second hand mac!!
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2009, 12:21 PM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Snow Leopard - any news?

No news yet. Even apple working hard on snowleo to get it right.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2009, 01:01 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,061
Default Re: Snow Leopard - any news?

Yeah. It's going on three months since the release of Snow Leopard and nothing new since the less than perfect Pre-release 8.0.3. Apple is still keeping Firewire 800 on MacPros, iMacs, Macbook Pros, and Mac Minis. The models that don't (and can't) have firewire are the white Macbooks and the Macbook Airs. It will be interesting to see what they do with the upcoming MacPros.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.4 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2009, 07:26 PM
JohnPaul Grim JohnPaul Grim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Snow Leopard - any news?

its really weird, my imac 27 inch i7 arrived yesterday and i migrated pro-tool LE 8, logic, and a crap ton of plug-ins to my new computer, (new imac has snow leopard installed vers 10.6.2)
AND EVERYTHING WORKS! not one program or plug-in acts funny, just one or two plug-ins have weird colors but its not making them unusable.
and i didn't even download that pre-release on the digi site.

craziest thing man
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2009, 07:40 PM
BlueThursday BlueThursday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: Snow Leopard - any news?

I've heard that from others too, that PT8 works fine on SL other than a few yellow backgrounds. Apparently if you do have the 8.0.3pr it doesn't do as well as 8.0.1 or 8.0 on SL.
__________________
Mac Pro - 8 core 2.8 GHz - 6GB RAM - 10.5.8
Pro Tools LE 8.0 - MPT2 - 003R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2009, 07:48 PM
JohnPaul Grim JohnPaul Grim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Snow Leopard - any news?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueThursday View Post
I've heard that from others too, that PT8 works fine on SL other than a few yellow backgrounds. Apparently if you do have the 8.0.3pr it doesn't do as well as 8.0.1 or 8.0 on SL.
yea man its crazy!

the one program i was worrying about was this AMAZING drum program called steven slate drums that i have, and yea man even that works great.

one and only thing is my line 6 pod farm has a problem authorizing every now and again, just a quick pro-tools relaunch fixes it tho
__________________
iMac 27inch
2.8 GHz Intel Quadcore i7
8GB 1067 MHz DDR3
2TB internal Memory
2Glyph external hard drives
003 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8
Logic 8 & 9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2009, 07:57 PM
JohnPaul Grim JohnPaul Grim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Snow Leopard - any news?

oh by the way to the original poster you don't have to buy a second hand mac, all new macs have firewire 800 ports which are backwards compatible.

so you can just do what i did.

go to amazon.com

and purchase this

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._ya_oh_product

half firewire800
other half firewire400

problem solved
__________________
iMac 27inch
2.8 GHz Intel Quadcore i7
8GB 1067 MHz DDR3
2TB internal Memory
2Glyph external hard drives
003 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8
Logic 8 & 9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2009, 07:27 AM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 796
Default Re: Snow Leopard - any news?

Quote:
oh by the way to the original poster you don't have to buy a second hand mac, all new macs have firewire 800 ports which are backwards compatible.

I think you mean Mackbook Pro's and NOT Macbooks......

Macbook £799

  • Gigabit Ethernet port
  • Mini DisplayPort
  • Two USB 2.0 ports (up to 480 Mbps)
  • Audio in/out
  • Kensington lock slot

No expansion slot, no firewire 400, no firewire 800.......
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install joji Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 01-01-2011 02:21 PM
Couldn't get snow leopard install to stabilize from leopard clone update! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2010 04:45 PM
Native Instruments Akoustik & Elektrik Piano Compatibility on Leopard & Snow Leopard DigiTechSupt Virtual Instruments 0 01-07-2010 11:08 AM
If buying Imac and MBox2 tomorrow: Leopard or Snow Leopard? Jairo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-22-2009 03:13 PM
Any news of PT DigiCoreAudio for snow leopard? dogric Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 11-04-2009 12:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com