Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2021, 05:54 AM
Neil Sherman Neil Sherman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 12
Default Click Track Idiot-proofing

I have now, an embarrassing amount of times done this:

1.Hurried bounce to disk, wetransfer, go to work

2.Composer friend emails me that the click track is all over my recording.

I KNOW i'll do this again. Can anyone think of a way of routing the click track so I hear it, but it doesn't go to the bounce if I forget to turn it off.

Thanks in advance, folks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2021, 06:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,135
Default Re: Click Track Idiot-proofing

There is the mute button you know...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2021, 12:43 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,560
Default Re: Click Track Idiot-proofing

I kill the click track as soon as possible(yes, I have made the same goof). Just remember, as soon as something becomes idiot-proof, they come out with a better idiot
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2021, 02:22 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,135
Default Re: Click Track Idiot-proofing

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
as soon as something becomes idiot-proof, they come out with a better idiot
priceless
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2021, 10:24 PM
EdgarRothermich's Avatar
EdgarRothermich EdgarRothermich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Hollywood
Posts: 265
Default Re: Click Track Idiot-proofing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Sherman View Post
Can anyone think of a way of routing the click track so I hear it, but it doesn't go to the bounce if I forget to turn it off.
If you have a spare output channel on your audio device and an old speaker in storage, just route the Click Track to that output channel so you can hear it playing but it is not part of your main Output Path that you are bouncing.
__________________
Edgar Rothermich
Author of "Pro Tools 2020 - How it Works"
from the Graphically Enhanced Manuals (GEM) series
http://DingDingMusic.com/
YouTube Channel Music Tech Explained https://YouTube.com/c/MusicTechExplained/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2021, 06:54 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: Click Track Idiot-proofing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Sherman View Post
I have now, an embarrassing amount of times done this:

1.Hurried bounce to disk, wetransfer, go to work

2.Composer friend emails me that the click track is all over my recording.

I KNOW i'll do this again. Can anyone think of a way of routing the click track so I hear it, but it doesn't go to the bounce if I forget to turn it off.

Thanks in advance, folks.
Without knowing your actual system just guessing in the dark
But I can think of two possible answers .


#1 as noted output the click to it's own channel and feed that physical output to it's own speaker


#2 Or probably better yet rethink you workflow habit and make recording and mixing more or less two different steps/processes , with as little mixing as possible while still recording all the tracks .. And simply make the switch to the mixing process a conscious change in workflow with muting the click track as signaling the start of that second process of mixing . (not to mention, while still recording multiple tracks and using a click, you should get in the habit of intentionally turning off the click and listening to the tracks without it as you go .

Or simply stop force yourself into the advisable habit of stop doing "a hurried bounce " and make muting the click the beginning of the 3 rd bounce process... Because there is never a good reason to hurry .
As the old horse whisperer said " the faster you want it ,,, the slower you go "
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.3 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-2021, 07:14 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,925
Default Re: Click Track Idiot-proofing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Sherman View Post
..
I KNOW i'll do this again. Can anyone think of a way of routing the click track so I hear it, but it doesn't go to the bounce if I forget to turn it off....
Two things:
In my sessions, everything routes to a mix bus - that bus gets routed to physical monitor output through an Aux called "Mix Monitor". There's also a "Print Track" when I want to print the mix. Both these tracks are solo iso'd. The click track (and other stuff like RX Monitor, reference audio, pitch reference) are routed directly to the physical monitor out - this way you can hear everything all the time, but there's no danger of those extra sources ending up on your printed mix.

Don't know about you, but nothing leaves here without me listening to it first (at least a spot check even for quick off-line renders for temp refs).
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 02:25 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,526
Default Re: Click Track Idiot-proofing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Sherman View Post
1.Hurried bounce to disk
This is your problem IMHO - we've all done it! I guess I'm unclear as to why you'd want the Click going during your mix to begin with? Have it on for editing/comping for sure, but once you get that stuff done just turn it off.

On a side note, I'll often automate the mute on the Click track so that there's a count-off at the beginning for various reasons, or to kill it for sustaining notes on a softer instrument like piano or acoustic guitar - that way it doesn't bleed through at the end of the song.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid can you please sort out the click track & Click 2 plugin protoolsuserman Pro Tools 11 14 11-14-2013 08:11 AM
No click sound on click track sighermike Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 10-10-2012 12:01 PM
No click coming out of click track vaein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-04-2009 09:05 PM
Getting the click track to click at 16th notes... broken81 Tips & Tricks 1 06-27-2008 07:06 PM
Click Track - How to "UN" accent the click plugin pepperbox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-02-2006 06:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com