Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2009, 10:41 AM
MikeX MikeX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 103
Default My Quad Core beauty

For those who are interested:

AMD Phenom X4 950
4GBs PC 1066 Ram
Asus Crosshair II Mobo
Protools LE 8.0 w/MPTK
500GB RAID-0 < YES RAID WORKS WITH PT (haven't had an issue yet and yes I backup to another drive).

Bascially I'm in love... this thing will let me run 10 instances of POD Farm, while loaded up on other plugins all at the same time.

For reference, my dual core laptop I use for recording can only stand 3 instances of POD Farm with limited other plugins enabled.

I'm in heaven.
__________________
Pro tools HD 9 - HD3 setup w/96 IO
AMD 3.81GHZ Phenom II X6 CPU - 8GB Ram - Win7 64-bit
Focusrite Voicemaster Pro
Presonus StudioLive 16 Channel Mixer
Digimax D8 8-Channel Preamp
Command 8
Vocal and Instrument Recording/Live PTHD Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2010, 07:10 AM
JFPicasso JFPicasso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 2
Default Re: My Quad Core beauty

Hey Mike, I'm trying to decide on what system to build, and I'm really looking into AMD, the build would be:

- ASUS M4A78T-E
- AMD PHENOM II X4 955 BLACK EDITION
- 2GB's GSKILL DDR3 Ram (more later...)

I run Pro Tools M-Powered 7.4cs3, with a Fast Track Pro, and Windows XP 32Bit. When I later upgrade to 4gb of Ram or more, I'll surely make the move to 64bit XP.

What do you think of this build? Do the 790 GX + SB750 chipsets have any incompatibility issues?

I'm trying to find as much info as I can on AMD systems, but info on the DUC about AMD seems to be pretty scattered around. All I can find are post about building Intel Quad's, which is what make me doubtful about building an AMD system.

If you can tell me something about your experience with the Phenom X4, maybe a Dverb test, or point me in the direction of a useful AMD Thread, I would be really greatful!

thanks!
JFPicasso
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2010, 01:14 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,988
Default Re: My Quad Core beauty

Congrats. Please let the rest of us know which motherboard you are using as it is probably the most critical part. Still hoping someone has success with an AMD 6 core
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2010, 01:22 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: My Quad Core beauty

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFPicasso View Post
Hey Mike, I'm trying to decide on what system to build, and I'm really looking into AMD, the build would be:

- ASUS M4A78T-E
- AMD PHENOM II X4 955 BLACK EDITION
- 2GB's GSKILL DDR3 Ram (more later...)

I run Pro Tools M-Powered 7.4cs3, with a Fast Track Pro, and Windows XP 32Bit. When I later upgrade to 4gb of Ram or more, I'll surely make the move to 64bit XP.


What do you think of this build? Do the 790 GX + SB750 chipsets have any incompatibility issues?

I'm trying to find as much info as I can on AMD systems, but info on the DUC about AMD seems to be pretty scattered around. All I can find are post about building Intel Quad's, which is what make me doubtful about building an AMD system.

If you can tell me something about your experience with the Phenom X4, maybe a Dverb test, or point me in the direction of a useful AMD Thread, I would be really greatful!

thanks!
JFPicasso
Buy a 1090HT. PT likes cores
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2010, 01:52 PM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,515
Default Re: My Quad Core beauty

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Buy a 1090HT. PT likes cores
There maybe this possibility:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...king,2627.html
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2010, 03:19 PM
TreeDaddy TreeDaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 94
Default Re: My Quad Core beauty

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeX View Post

Bascially I'm in love... this thing will let me run 10 instances of POD Farm, while loaded up on other plugins all at the same time.
Welcome to the same heaven I'm in! POD Farm...my primary guitar plug is such a hog...could only load 2 tops without stuttering or freezing on my old system. Now I concentrate on getting awesome tone instead of ctrl+alt+delete all the time! Quad is a beautiful thing
__________________
...sing in the melody of "Row Row Row your Boat": Damn Damn Damn it all, Damn it all to Hell..."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-2010, 03:21 PM
TreeDaddy TreeDaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 94
Default Re: My Quad Core beauty

....and diddley dammit we DUC'ers DESERVE HEAVEN!!!!
__________________
...sing in the melody of "Row Row Row your Boat": Damn Damn Damn it all, Damn it all to Hell..."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-2010, 07:28 PM
serio serio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SWFLA
Posts: 385
Default Re: My Quad Core beauty

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFPicasso View Post

I'm trying to find as much info as I can on AMD systems, but info on the DUC about AMD seems to be pretty scattered around. All I can find are post about building Intel Quad's, which is what make me doubtful about building an AMD system.

If you can tell me something about your experience with the Phenom X4, maybe a Dverb test, or point me in the direction of a useful AMD Thread, I would be really greatful!
Not too much for AMD here, and what is here is pretty scattered like you say.
Here's my AMD setup:
Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
AMD Athlon II X4 630 2.8GHZ @3.36GHZ
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cooler
4G REAPER CL4 DDR2 RAM @ 5-5-5-18
2X 640G WD Caviar BLK 32 cache
Sapphire 4550 HD 512MB
SIIG PCI 1394 card
Antec Basiq 550W PSU
003 Rack
PT 8.0.1
MPTK2
It was almost out of curiosity that I went with this setup. I wanted to see how a $99 AMD CPU would run ProTools. The fact that Rain Recording uses AMD in their solstice workstation was the final push I needed: http://www.rainrecording.com/products/solstice-studio/ It's been running great, and ever since I finished optimizing it, I haven't had a single hiccup.
Dverb2.0 test with new Dverbs: 121 @ 2.8ghz; 141 @ 3.36ghz

Excited to hear about this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post


I just ordered a 2.8GHz HT1055 6 core for 199.00. I think it wil be interesting to compare the 2.8Ghz E7400 @ 99.00 to the 99.00 Athlon x4 620 @ 2.8Ghz and then see how adding 2 more cores and some cache for another 100.00 scales up and compares to the i7 920. i7 930 are 199.00 here in Cleveland, Oh so I think its a valid comparison.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Mac Mini Core i7 2GHz QUAD CORE - 4GB RAM - 2 x 500GB gsilbers Buy & Sell 3 05-18-2013 05:17 PM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 02:24 AM
Mac Pro Quad 3.0ghz 4 core vs. Dual Quad 8 core? AllThingsMusicStudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-04-2008 08:22 AM
New Build Help: Q9450 Core 2 Quad Core Machine Advice? GanB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 04-15-2008 05:14 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com