Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2005, 06:32 PM
Reckah Reckah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cali
Posts: 48
Default the beast know as Latency

wow, i hope i don't make this a habit. with my Mbox i had everything figured out, now with the new 002 rack i gotta relearn hardware.

Latency... with the Mbox you could monitor the input before the mix, and if u mute the track, and solo the headphones, everything was beautiful. regardless of what u set the buffer setting at.

Digi002 rack... my only option is to lower the buffer setting??? even when i do theres a small amount. PLUS for some reason when ever i try to do below 256 samples, i get the DAE -6088 error which is the first error i had problems wit... which was basically a compatability problem... and i fixed that.

quoting another forum post "there will always be some latency." OK i guess i can accept that. but i still feel like there must be something i can do to help fix this problem. n e ideas on how to get a good headphone mix avoiding latency? since im guessing theres no way to monitor the input signal before digi002 rack sends it to the comp. Any help and ideas is always appreciated. Thank you for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2005, 06:45 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: the beast know as Latency

check the "low latency monitoring" option in your menus
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2005, 06:53 PM
Reckah Reckah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cali
Posts: 48
Default Re: the beast know as Latency

tried that... helps a lil. should of mentioned it in the first post. all artist can relate, but im just a perfectionist, and im trying to get that good mix i got from mbox... im startin to miss it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2005, 07:24 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: the beast know as Latency

Quote:
tried that... helps a lil. should of mentioned it in the first post. all artist can relate, but im just a perfectionist, and im trying to get that good mix i got from mbox... im startin to miss it.
Remove any latency generating plugins from your audio track and master fader (disable or remove, not bypass) and try low latency monitoring again. (You can't get latency any lower than that without extra analog gear.)
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2005, 10:15 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,813
Default Re: the beast know as Latency

I'm no expert, so if there is something missing or wrong in this explanation, please correct me.

Using Low Latency Monitoring means that any plug-ins you are using for your monitor mix when tracking will be automatically bypassed. However, the CPU hit will still be there, that's why Chris recommended you disable or completely remove any plug-ins. That said, I record voice using both the Waves TrueVerb and Waves L2 on the Master to give me the sound I want in my headphones when tracking. I record at 64 buffer and, while I know intellectually there is latency, I certainly can't hear it and neither can anyone else whose been in my booth.

The M Box allows you to monitor through the headphones as if the signal was coming from a mixer, meaning that the input is folded back with the output. However, with the 002, in a simplified version of events, the input signal has to go through the A/D into the computer, then back out the D/A mixed with any playback. This path is where the latency comes from. Lower buffer settings lower the latency, but it can't be completely eliminated. You would need to monitor through a mixer or, if I'm not mistaken, something like an SPL MTC 2381, Samson C Control or Mackie Big Knob to completely do away with monitoring latency. But that also means no plug-ins in the monitor mix, so you would need outboard gear if you wanted to enhance the monitor mix.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a New Beast Voxer99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-11-2011 12:04 PM
Quad is a BEAST! (Of the right kind!) Ian-H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-15-2006 05:30 AM
Will this beast work? X-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-09-2002 11:47 AM
building the beast jon sutton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-17-2001 10:44 PM
G4-beauty, but the beast! voodoo55 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-02-2000 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com