Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-23-2021, 04:34 PM

Default Managing Video Sync

I am new to Pro Tools and I wanted to ask a few questions about video sync.

It's my understanding that video imported into Pro Tools cannot be 100% synced because as the computer load gets pressed, the internal quicktime video can ship frames. Is this a correct assumption?

If this is true then you should use a Avid Sync X along with an external video device to ensure frame accuracy. Is this also a correct assumption?

How do smaller post production companies manage video sync when using Pro Tools? Much of my work is corporate interviews and commercials which I would not use an external machine to manage sync as it is not part of my current workflow. Is there an alternative method that I am missing?

Thanks everyone for sharing your thoughts!
Old 06-23-2021, 04:47 PM

Default Re: Managing Video Sync

These days Pro Tools internal video sync is perfectly usable without a sync peripheral.
If you convert all video to Pro Res or DNXHD you won't have any dropped frames and stop start sync & playback will be easily accurate enough for day to day use especially when working in short form.
A sync HD gives frame edge sync for ultimate sync accuracy and the confidence that long playbacks of more than an hour will not drift even slightly.
Old 06-23-2021, 04:57 PM

ive done hundreds of episodes of tv , and never a problem using imported, properly formated source footage, from an editor who knows what he/she is doing.
Old 06-23-2021, 05:26 PM

Thanks everyone for your thoughts. I'll be using the Avid AAF or Pro Tools export from Davinci Resolve. I'll try that out and see how it goes.
Old 06-23-2021, 05:29 PM