Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2011, 06:18 AM
James010101 James010101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Default Multiple ptmp licenses on same iLok

Hi, I'm new to Pro Tools so excuse me if this is a stupid question.

I just wondered if I had an ilok with a license for ptmp 8 only, could I open ptmp 7.4 with this license seeing as it's an older version? It would be helpful to me if I could as one of my systems is still running osx 10.4.11 so I can't use ptmp8 on it.

If this isn't possible then would it work if I had a ptmp 7.4 license and ptmp 8 license on the same iLok? Also, if I was to upgrade from 7.4 to 8 would it still work with both versions or would 8 replace 7.4 on the ilok?

Hope this makes sense.

In addition, if anyone is looking to sell their ptmp 7.4 license please get in touch.

Thanks,

James
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2011, 06:47 AM
tribedescribe tribedescribe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: maine
Posts: 249
Default Re: Multiple ptmp licenses on same iLok

I am pretty sure a 7.4 wont work with a 8 license.


When I upgraded from 7.3 to 8 my 7.3 license stayed on a ilok and was not taken. So yes 7.4 should stay on the license when you upgrade. But if you go to PT9 you do have to surrender one license. When I went to PT9 Avid gave me a choice so I surrender my 7.3 license or 8.0 license. You can have 7.4 and 8.0 on the same license, you just cant install the two different programs(7.4 8.0) on the same computer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to transfer iLok licenses from old to new iLok mschaeffer General Discussion 3 08-16-2013 05:55 PM
multiple licenses... LURCH macOS 1 05-01-2013 07:53 AM
Purchased multiple licenses but only delivered 1 swpowe macOS 6 07-14-2011 12:56 AM
Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-07-2009 03:51 AM
Do I need to buy multiple DV Toolkit licenses? sebamars 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-02-2005 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com