Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2002, 01:12 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: video formats

It's very compatible format between both computers. But protools does not at this time support Video. It's coming. The mac version of PTle does. DV is an uncompressed format for the most part. Quicktime, mpg, etc are compressed formats.

If you're going to get into this video stuff more I'd suggest getting a DV camera like a Sony Digital8. The tapes are cheap, and the quality very good and..... you can use the camera as a A/D converter for your older analog format and other things.
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2002, 04:08 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: video formats

A firewire card (pci-card) for your pc is probably cheaper, and lend the camera.....and then again to put the finished movie back to tape.

The new version of protools for winXP will have quicktime support if they keep up their promise....and why wouldnt they....

or have a look around here

They make some decent stuff....
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2002, 04:10 PM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: video formats

Thanks. I just found this Pinnacle Studio DeLuxe system that costs $299, has editing software, and comes with an AD/DA converter. Wondering if this is more cost effective, because buying a digital camcorder won't get me editing software.
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2002, 04:13 PM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: video formats

You buy the digital camera for the resolution and clarity that you can't get with analog. The ad converters will work but I have found that you get better tracking using the firewire out on the digital camera vs analog outs.
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2002, 04:14 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: video formats

crossed posts..... [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

If you can get your hands on adobe premiere....buy it! It will do everything you'll need, including firewire support, special effect, titles, and also stripping sound from a movie...and export is as a .wav.....and back again...
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2002, 04:16 PM
David Sumich's Avatar
David Sumich David Sumich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Daly City, CA USA
Posts: 362
Default Re: video formats

Quote:
I filmed a band gig last night with an analog camcoder. Upon research, I discovered that I could buy a video AD converter to import the video as a DV format into the PC via FireWire interface. The product is called Hollywood Bridge by a company named Dazzle.
My question has to do with the DV format? How does it relate to QuickTime or other formats, and more importantly, can PTLE (either PC or MAC) read the DV format?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yes!!! With this latest release of ProTools LE(PT 5.3.1) you can import .dv files into your session. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
David Sumich
Principal Applications Engineer
Avid
--------------------
We're only immortal for a limited time
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2002, 04:17 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: video formats

cooooooooooooooooooooool!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2002, 12:42 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default video formats

I filmed a band gig last night with an analog camcoder. Upon research, I discovered that I could buy a video AD converter to import the video as a DV format into the PC via FireWire interface. The product is called Hollywood Bridge by a company named Dazzle.
My question has to do with the DV format? How does it relate to QuickTime or other formats, and more importantly, can PTLE (either PC or MAC) read the DV format?
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2002, 10:39 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: video formats

Dave, you mentioned above that .dv files can be imported. The actual extrension created by my capture program is .avi, which is uncompressed video format. PTLE rejects it as a non-QuickTime format. So my question is the following:
"Precisely, what video file format can be imported into LE 5.3.1?"
Thanks
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2002, 10:49 AM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: video formats

If you click on the import movie dialog box the drop down list will display all the supported file extensions.
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video question 2: Changing video formats in session johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-18-2010 09:56 AM
Video formats Fullsound Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 10-07-2008 12:01 PM
Video Formats hughwes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 08-18-2007 01:10 AM
video formats??? Jorge442 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 01-03-2004 06:11 AM
How to use non quicktime video formats in PT? (((k))) 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 22 12-24-2003 08:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com