Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Old 01-24-2022, 01:04 PM

Default Using Mobilepre to check my preamp

I'm a bit new to this and am trying to use Avid Mobilepre to see why my custom-made preamp has developed a hum. I'm using a M-Mobile Avid Mobilepre MK II. I've found the Mobilepre drivers and will update them on the laptop. Do I need the Avid pro tools too, to install Mobilepre to do the test, if I'm using Audacity to see and save data or just ignore it? I don't have the CD and have looked for the software, but without luck.
I've connected the XLR cable left and right (one at a time, seperately) from preamp out to Mobilepre in. None of the buttons in from are depressed. Gain on XLR in (left or right) is turned all the way up to maximum. A signal went from preamp, thru the Mobilepre, to laptop via USB. Audacity (V 2.0.6) is set to Mobilepre as the input source. It records but at a low volume. The data's useable. Here's a screenshot of the left xlr being played back. Am I using the best settings in audacity to record a hum?

I'm using these tests to isolate if the hum is coming from ground loops, components or another source.

Am I using the best settings and is there a better way to do this?

Screenshot link:

https://imgur.com/a/pMYhmr6

Old 01-24-2022, 07:08 PM

Default Re: Using Mobilepre to check my preamp

Welcome to the DUC. You should not need Pro Tools to troubleshoot this.

"I've connected the XLR cable left and right (one at a time, seperately) from preamp out to Mobilepre in." This is incorrect. Doing it this way means you are feeding a preamp out(line level) into a Mic-level input. You should use a cable with XLR at the preamp output and TRS at the MobilePre input.