Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2001, 05:10 PM
Dr. J Dr. J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: All Over
Posts: 354
Default cd referencing a PT mix

How is everyone burning mixes from PT for referencing in say another room, or a car during a mixdown? The converting to 16 bit to burn in Masterlist, just for a car reference is killing us.

__________________
jay@jayriggs.com
www.jayriggs.com
www.fifty-fiftymusic.com


Turn Me Up!™ – Sign Up Now to Bring Dynamics Back to Music (www.TurnMeUp.org)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2001, 11:05 PM
IOP Drummer IOP Drummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 570
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

I recently worked with Jeff Poe, who enginered three songs on Santana's supernatura, and that's what we did---I brought my standalone CD burner and some CD's. We would burn one mix, go listen to it everwhere we could, then the band members would point things out. I have about 6 or 7 mixes on a few CD's, along with the final CD with the pre mastered mix on it. On the final mix, we bounced to DAT and CD simultaneously, doing an instrumental bounce, vocals only bounce, a normal bounce, a vox up bounce, and a vox down bounce. Having the burner worked out really well.
__________________
Mike Blanchard
Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2001, 11:35 PM
PT2GO PT2GO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 172
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

Can't you just bounce to disk at 16 bit output resolution, without doing any conversion? Am I missing something?
Unless you're talking about SR conversion...

BTW, MLCD will open 24 bit files (at least version 2.2 does). And doesn't it have basic dithering in it? If you're just referencing on smaller stuff it's just fine for checking basic balances.




[This message has been edited by PT2GO (edited March 22, 2001).]
__________________
Jerry
Nashville, TN
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2001, 07:53 AM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

Anybody know how to send a direct line out to a car stereo? With a couple of wakie talkies between the car and engineer, it may help speed things up.

------------------
bassmac
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2001, 08:20 AM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

Just throw a dither plug-in on the master fader and choose 16 bit resolution in the bounce options. No need to do a conversion.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2001, 09:53 AM
bousley bousley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: KC, MO, USA
Posts: 70
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

I have a low wattage(range:300 M) stereo FM transmitter I use to check mix translation on various receivers. The clients can sit in their cars and get an idea of the mix on their car stereo immediately without having to take the time to burn a CD. If they want to experiment with adjustments to the mix real-time while listening in their car, they talk to me on cellular.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2001, 11:13 AM
mtung mtung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 483
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

Hey Bousley,

I'd like to know more about your FM transmitter. Is it home made or store bought. Did you have to get a license to transmit or is that a non issue?

Great idea! I want that!!

mtung
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2001, 11:48 AM
Digital Sound Lab Digital Sound Lab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Seattle, WA. 98118
Posts: 387
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

I'd like to know also.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2001, 12:30 PM
COCO COCO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York, N.Y.
Posts: 852
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

go to the Ramsey electronics site. i have some of their stuff, it's nice for the price. fyi, the stereo fm kit, (LP1, I think, I can't find the catalog) will be illegal if you go pirate, that is, think u r a radio station. you may have to insert a LP filter (12-15KHz) for it to sound clean on the high end. I used one as an exciter for a large high power pirate station. Until....well, I've gotten OT.
COCO
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2001, 10:40 PM
Dr. J Dr. J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: All Over
Posts: 354
Default Re: cd referencing a PT mix

Thanks all. We're going with the dither on master fader, and going digital out to a stand alone cd burner. Seems o be the fastest way to reference, without bouncing at all, to open in masterlist.

j
__________________
jay@jayriggs.com
www.jayriggs.com
www.fifty-fiftymusic.com


Turn Me Up!™ – Sign Up Now to Bring Dynamics Back to Music (www.TurnMeUp.org)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better cross-referencing of info Top Jimmy General Discussion 0 01-27-2009 04:31 PM
referencing CDs through mbox bannerj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-22-2004 02:06 PM
Referencing to major label stuff Superclock Tips & Tricks 11 11-15-2002 09:17 AM
Referencing Movie Bummer COCO Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 01-05-2001 10:25 PM
Old SC instrs referencing SDI samples Jamshied Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 04-05-1999 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com