Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2011, 08:12 PM
ronzie ronzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
Default More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

1 macbook(2006) install and 2 macpro nehalem(2009) installs (on two different drives). Two separate downloaded avid ptx installers and two separate updated driver installers were used(the latest greatest).

Only problem's @ 1024 samples and above (@44.1 & 48k) with the 002r, though. All other rates work fine on both computers (512 on down, etc) with the interface. PT aggregate works for ALL rates and all bit depths on both computers. Checking the "ignore errors" in the host engine MAKES 1024 happen on the 002r (amazingly) from both computers and the 3 installs. The "host" may want to ignore it by I don't.

The nehalem is stripped to the bone(on a new drive). I bought a new WD black and did a fresh osx 10.6.8 (and PTX) install. No 3rd party anything on that drive... no go @1024 with the interface..fine with aggregate...

All of my PT9 installs on the same stuff work flawlessly.

All of the mac/avid stuff is done to the letter(as always),even down to the 24 hour clock etc....

Drivers anyone??? Software bug?? Anyone care to take a stab???

That cursor doesn't wanna budge!!!

Thanks a million,
Ronzie
__________________
Ron Allaire
3ID NYC
Reservoir Studios NYC

Home rigs:
Mac pro 5,1 2.66 nehalem quadcore (10.12.2 &10.13.1),24g ram,sonnet firewire 400 card, Samsung ssd 3-1T WD Caviar black (internals), 002r, PT 12.6.1 HD & 12.8.2.106).

Macbook Pro 2.5ghz quad (10.12.2),16g ram, 2 X SSD (internal),PT 12.4 HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2011, 02:21 AM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

I have exactly the same thing with a 002R on a Mac Pro 8-core 3 GHz under Mac os x 10.7.2 and PT 10. I have posted about this.

Very often a PT 9 session into 10 won't play on 1024 samples buffer. The system usage meter jumps to 0% and the play AND stop button flash. After that I get the error. Setting the buffer size to 512 plays the session as normal.

This can be recalled every time I open a PT 9 file into PT 10. After I save it as a PT 10 .ptx file the session opens at 1024 and plays back normally but yesterday I had the same problem in a ptx file after turning on automatic delay compensation. Again it wouldn't play back at 1024 samples but had no problem at 512 samples. Very weird. I have disk caching turned on as well and get disk too slow errors while the whole session runs from the RAM cache with only 20% of the cache used. Again weird contradictory messages and bugs.

I have tried all the usual things to no avail like trashing prefs et cetera.

Anyone else have this problem? I'm starting to think it is 002R related. I'm using mine as a host for external preamp(s). Meaning I have external preamps and ADC connected to the ADAT or SPDIF connection depending on what I'm recording. I've also tied to run it from its internal clock but the same problems occur.
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2011, 06:13 AM
serio serio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SWFLA
Posts: 385
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

May not be a 002R only problem. My 003R won't work at 1024 either, and that's with sessions created in 10. So far I've only played with new sessions and haven't opened any sessions created in older PT versions. Delay comp is at default large setting. System usage window greys out when 1024 is selected and an error occurs as soon as play is selected. Fresh PT 10 install over factory Lion, updated to 10.7.2.
__________________
21.5" Mid-2011 iMac i5 QUAD 2.5GHZ 4G RAM ML 10.8.5--Pro Tools 10.3.9--Avid Mbox Pro / 003R--ICY DOCK MB664UEA-1S FW400 With: 500GB Samsung HD502HJ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2011, 06:43 AM
ronzie ronzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

Thanks for chiming in Bortraws. I had been fishing around for other threads on the issue and I would have chimed in on yours, if I had found it.

To add to it,creating a new session in PTX on a clean 10.6.8 OSX install and a PTX install, does the same thing. This is with just click and the stereo dithered mixer in the plugins folder and all other avid plugs are in the unused folder. I even put the aax plugs into their unused folder. It falls over @1024.

I never had the problem in PT9 and I still don't on my other installs.

It's workable but unacceptable. Sometimes, I bring some very heavy sessions home to do work ... once the hd rig goes to PTX,I'm going to need the beef.

Ronzie
__________________
Ron Allaire
3ID NYC
Reservoir Studios NYC

Home rigs:
Mac pro 5,1 2.66 nehalem quadcore (10.12.2 &10.13.1),24g ram,sonnet firewire 400 card, Samsung ssd 3-1T WD Caviar black (internals), 002r, PT 12.6.1 HD & 12.8.2.106).

Macbook Pro 2.5ghz quad (10.12.2),16g ram, 2 X SSD (internal),PT 12.4 HD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2011, 06:51 AM
ronzie ronzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

Quote:
Originally Posted by serio View Post
May not be a 002R only problem. My 003R won't work at 1024 either, and that's with sessions created in 10. So far I've only played with new sessions and haven't opened any sessions created in older PT versions. Delay comp is at default large setting. System usage window greys out when 1024 is selected and an error occurs as soon as play is selected. Fresh PT 10 install over factory Lion, updated to 10.7.2.
So it's on Lion,also... I've used every permutation of the comp engine and no go@1024 unless ignore is checked.

Thanks for the info Serio,
Ronzie
__________________
Ron Allaire
3ID NYC
Reservoir Studios NYC

Home rigs:
Mac pro 5,1 2.66 nehalem quadcore (10.12.2 &10.13.1),24g ram,sonnet firewire 400 card, Samsung ssd 3-1T WD Caviar black (internals), 002r, PT 12.6.1 HD & 12.8.2.106).

Macbook Pro 2.5ghz quad (10.12.2),16g ram, 2 X SSD (internal),PT 12.4 HD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2011, 08:22 AM
serio serio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SWFLA
Posts: 385
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

No problem. I may start out sessions with a small buffer but I also prefer the leg room of 1024 once it's mix time.
__________________
21.5" Mid-2011 iMac i5 QUAD 2.5GHZ 4G RAM ML 10.8.5--Pro Tools 10.3.9--Avid Mbox Pro / 003R--ICY DOCK MB664UEA-1S FW400 With: 500GB Samsung HD502HJ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2011, 01:37 PM
bortraws bortraws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 347
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

It's the same here. I did a clean install of Lion 10.7.2 and installed a crispy fresh PT 10 on top of it. Took me 2 full days to get the system and all my plugins up and running again.

Anyway, I am glad I did it though. PT 10 runs good except for the weird 1024 samples buffer error and the problems I've been having with Elastic Audio tracks being rendered incorrectly when opening sessions that contained EA tracks. And like you guys I now also experience the 1024 samples problem in PT 10 sessions and not just converted 9 sessions.

I produce my work in native sessions with 60 tracks as an average that include many plugins so I need the 1024 samples buffer to pull that off.

Hopefully Avid knows what the problem is and they can come up with a bug fix soon. I didn't pay the high upgrade price to gain some nice new features on one end but loose a big part of my processing power on the other.
__________________
Bortraws
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2011, 03:26 AM
mistalo mistalo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA
Posts: 40
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

I'm running an imac duel 3.06 16 gig ram osx 10.6.8. I have the same buffer and elastic audio issues opening my pt8 sessions in pt10. I crossgraded straight from pt8 to pt10. I'm having trouble running my heavy sessions with my usual 1024 mix settings. Most of my sessions eventually need to be run at 1024 and it acts too sensitive and there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to playback performance when raising the buffer to 1024. I get the blinking play button and stop button or error message when opening my pt8 sessions that are heavy and need every bit of the 1024. I had to remove a bunch of plug ins to get playback going in pt10. I think I tried going down in buffer too, but I also know that these sessions were super loaded. I tried most of the heaviest sessions I had specifically to test the two pt versions at the same settings expecting my sessions to perform better and faster. Unfortunately it seemed to be worse. It reminds me of pt5 when the sessions would flow better at 128 on some systems with no explanation. I'm looking forward to opening all of my sessions in pt10 with no problems. We need to be able to open these sessions without a hitch. I also have to check the ignore errors box although I never have to usually check that box.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-13-2011, 06:50 AM
ronzie ronzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistalo View Post
I'm running an imac duel 3.06 16 gig ram osx 10.6.8. I have the same buffer and elastic audio issues opening my pt8 sessions in pt10. I crossgraded straight from pt8 to pt10. I'm having trouble running my heavy sessions with my usual 1024 mix settings. Most of my sessions eventually need to be run at 1024 and it acts too sensitive and there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to playback performance when raising the buffer to 1024. I get the blinking play button and stop button or error message when opening my pt8 sessions that are heavy and need every bit of the 1024. I had to remove a bunch of plug ins to get playback going in pt10. I think I tried going down in buffer too, but I also know that these sessions were super loaded. I tried most of the heaviest sessions I had specifically to test the two pt versions at the same settings expecting my sessions to perform better and faster. Unfortunately it seemed to be worse. It reminds me of pt5 when the sessions would flow better at 128 on some systems with no explanation. I'm looking forward to opening all of my sessions in pt10 with no problems. We need to be able to open these sessions without a hitch. I also have to check the ignore errors box although I never have to usually check that box.
Tuesday, when I get a chance, I'll see if I can get my laptop (w/ PTX) to run with a Metric Halo interface (@1024). Being that the aggregate works, it may work with a third party interface. This may isolate the problem down to the 002/003 family stuff(including the drivers). It would be nice if someone with a non-avid/digi interface checked in with what they have been seeing @1024???.

Ronzie
__________________
Ron Allaire
3ID NYC
Reservoir Studios NYC

Home rigs:
Mac pro 5,1 2.66 nehalem quadcore (10.12.2 &10.13.1),24g ram,sonnet firewire 400 card, Samsung ssd 3-1T WD Caviar black (internals), 002r, PT 12.6.1 HD & 12.8.2.106).

Macbook Pro 2.5ghz quad (10.12.2),16g ram, 2 X SSD (internal),PT 12.4 HD
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2011, 07:09 AM
stormmusic stormmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 377
Default Re: More PTX Buffer Errors: -9128

Any MIDI instr's? I had this problem until I de-activated KORE player and OMNIISPHERE. KORE player is discontinued but OMNI just needed an update.

System works now...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buffer Errors (6086 and 9128) using Komplete 9 Ultimate Instruments dunnaj Virtual Instruments 0 05-29-2013 12:14 PM
9128 errors jrmintz macOS 2 10-09-2012 07:39 PM
9128 errors - please help :( gavp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-29-2011 09:52 PM
Constant H/W buffer errors -6101 -6104 -9128 alvarez1900 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 21 01-08-2009 11:58 PM
constant -9128 errors anne pope 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-14-2005 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com