Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2007, 08:45 AM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default recording midi parameters like modwheel, volume

Why there's no way to record volume changes, expression using an external controller such as a modwheel on a keyboard on pro tools? I thought that was just a basic feature of a sequencer. it's a pain to draw those lines by a pencil. It takes forever. Or maybe i'm wrong, and there's a way of doing this??????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2007, 11:51 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: recording midi parameters like modwheel, volume

Yes. Just record them.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2007, 01:34 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: recording midi parameters like modwheel, volume

lol.........but how?

when i lunch a plug in like EAST WEST woodwind plug in in standalone mode, when i move the modwheel on my keyboard, it moves the virtual modwheel on the plug in, meaning i can control its modwheel, using an external modwheel on my keyboard. Now, i want to do the same thing but in protools.
Let's say i have this midi track for vioin which has no expression or modwheel, or pitch bend information on it. i know if i go to the mix window and put it in auto write, if i mess with the knob on protools, i can record changes in volume in real time, but how can i do that using an external controller? ....because whatever i'm doing on the keyboard, like messing with volume knob, or modwheel is not writing/adding any new information on the midi track at all?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2007, 05:24 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: recording midi parameters like modwheel, volume

DIGIDESIGN...can you answer this question please?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2007, 05:53 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: recording midi parameters like modwheel, volume

mod wheel and pitch wheel are MIDI events, not control surface automation.

As I said, you would need to record the MIDI data, like you would any other MIDI data. Put Pro Tools in MIDI merge mode, record arm the track, press record and perform your wheel writes.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback volume much louder than recording volume BinkBonk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-26-2008 04:21 PM
How to assign MIDI CC to plugin parameters if no MIDI Learn? Mitch Manger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-25-2007 11:10 AM
Problems with recording midi effect parameters figment 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 07-19-2007 04:51 PM
Saving all of my midi parameters cigam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-30-2002 08:45 AM
Nordlead's Modwheel as control fader CharlesBtc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-03-2000 10:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com