Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2007, 01:25 PM
conjure.one conjure.one is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Default Midi Beat Clock sync issues

I'm having trouble sync'ing Ableton Live and a Doepfer MAQ16/3 to the ProTools HD 7.3 master. (Unitor 8 mk2 for Midi i/o)
they both sync, but in double time to the Pro Tools tempo, ie; PT session is set to 92 bpm, Ableton Live locks at 184 bpm. I can't really find any control other than on - off for the clock out, and the MAQ sync'd fine until recently...anyone have any insight? (Ableton were no help either)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2007, 05:46 PM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: Midi Beat Clock sync issues

Check the time value. i.e. 4/4 related to a quarter note in the transport. (They should match in both apps). You could also try changing this while recording your parts across than go back. Some midi apps may relate to tempo differently. Also some soft synths let you choose the beat clock value (24, 48...)
I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2007, 12:56 PM
conjure.one conjure.one is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Default Re: Midi Beat Clock sync issues

playing with clicking on and off the midi beat clock outs seemed to resolve this, but the mbc lock with Live is so sloppy. Does PTHD not generate MTC? i get the idea you need Sync i/o to do this in the manual. pretty sad if thats the case...anyone know? (i had an easier time locking an Atari to a 2" machine 11 years ago...)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2007, 02:23 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,676
Default Re: Midi Beat Clock sync issues

Quote:
playing with clicking on and off the midi beat clock outs seemed to resolve this, but the mbc lock with Live is so sloppy. Does PTHD not generate MTC? i get the idea you need Sync i/o to do this in the manual. pretty sad if thats the case...anyone know? (i had an easier time locking an Atari to a 2" machine 11 years ago...)
Hi,

Check that only one box(one midi out) it ticked in the midi beat clock window! sometimes by clicking more than one box will double the midi clock output.

Regarding Live! i have found that i have to have PT set to a loop playback! and then Live will sync ok, if i try to start PT from the beginning of the session without PT being set to loop playback it will play badly out of sync.

ADC will also have an influence on the timing with rewire apps, depending on whether you have any big delay causing plugs in the session etc, so try with adc on and off.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2007, 06:06 PM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: Midi Beat Clock sync issues

"Does PTHD not generate MTC?"
Yes it does.
Session setup Command keypad #2 select "using MTC" their.
Also in your preferences>MIDI Check ? Midi Time Code and or Beat clock.

PT's 7.3.1cs4 OS 10.4.10
G5 2.7 PPC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 & Midi Beat Clock sync Aquarius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-06-2010 01:34 AM
Midi Beat Clock Won't Sync illyaas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-14-2008 04:59 PM
MIDI Beat Clock Sync PT 6.8 DarylBham 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-23-2008 01:25 AM
pt sync to midi beat clock dmaxj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 10-09-2003 04:34 AM
lfo sync to midi beat clock? electone Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 02-01-2000 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com