Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2013, 02:49 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,574
Default Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

Hi Friends

This is the answer we got today when I sent a pretty snarky email as UA said 2 weeks ago they would come back to me within 2 business days ..

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Christopher,

Thank you for your email. I can only provide you with the information I have been provided:

Universal Audio is committed to the Pro Tools platform, and we plan to support AAX in the future with Apollo and UAD-2 devices, just as we do with RTAS plug-ins today. Below are some FAQs on the current status of UAD AAX development:

Q: When will Pro Tools AAX support be available? A: We are currently working hard on AAX plug-in development, and we expect that we will have AAX support for all 55+ UAD plug-ins completed in 2013. The exact month is still TBD, but rest assured we are putting significant engineering resources behind delivering rock-solid AAX plug-ins — as soon as possible — for Pro Tools 11 users.

Q: How will AAX will be supported by UAD plug-ins? A: UAD Powered Plug-Ins will support AAX in the same manner as they support RTAS today. In other words, UAD/AAX plug-ins will require UAD-2 DSP Accelerator hardware or the Apollo audio interface. Of course, UAD plug-ins will show up inside Pro Tools 11 as would any other AAX Native plug-in.

Q: Will the upgrade from RTAS to AAX be free of charge? A: Yes. The upgrade to AAX will be completely free to UAD users.

We will post any new official announcements on the website once available.

Thank you for your patience with this development, and for supporting the use of Universal Audio equipment.




Best regards,


Ian Swanke
Customer Support
Universal Audio

-------------------
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2013, 04:01 PM
boomsounddesign's Avatar
boomsounddesign boomsounddesign is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Curitiba, Brasil
Posts: 89
Default Re: Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

Sounds to me like UAD is gonna be coming sometime around September or October.
__________________
My Gear
Mac Pro (mid 2011) - 2x 2.8GHz Quad-Core Xeon, 16GB RAM, ProTools HD Native, UAD Quad.
HD IO 16x16 + Lynx Aurora 16
Solid State Logic Matrix
B&W 800 series + Yamaha HSM80s

Mojave Audio, Royer, Neumann, Audix, Yamaha, AKG and Shure mics. Focusrite ISA828, SSL Alpha VHD, UA LA610-mkii, M-Audio OctoPre, Avid Eleven Rack

Canare and Mogami cabling.

http://www.boomsounddesign.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2013, 04:16 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,574
Default Re: Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomsounddesign View Post
Sounds to me like UAD is gonna be coming sometime around September or October.
Yes, hopefully they are doing what they say they are and I have never had any reason to think otherwise regarding UA so maybe after summer
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2013, 05:34 AM
nd nd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 53
Default Re: Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

Does anyone know if they will just release one at a time as they are completed? I'd hope that they would. I'd rather get to work with some of their plugins using PT11 sooner rather than wait a long time for them all to be completed and released simultaneously.

Christopher, if you end up replying to them again, perhaps you could ask?

I'd like to see the tape plugins done first!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2013, 06:52 AM
Drywsef Drywsef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 240
Default Re: Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nd View Post
Does anyone know if they will just release one at a time as they are completed? I'd hope that they would. I'd rather get to work with some of their plugins using PT11 sooner rather than wait a long time for them all to be completed and released simultaneously.

Christopher, if you end up replying to them again, perhaps you could ask?

I'd like to see the tape plugins done first!
That would mean many software version releases for them. I am sure they will do it all at once.
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2013, 07:19 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,587
Default Re: Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

Besides, their plugs are really just shells into their DSP world if I understand their system properly.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-2013, 07:56 AM
xy44 xy44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london UK
Posts: 153
Default Re: Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

I very much doubt they will be done separately. - that will cause all kinds of chaos I'd imagine. - they will just release a ver 8.0 of there software and be done with it..
Shame we have to wait so long.. its the only thing holding me back going full steam ahead on 11! (well that and slate, and slate are not going to AAX so meh!)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-09-2013, 08:55 AM
nd nd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 53
Default Re: Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

True, you're right, prob too much troubles. Half and half would be good!

I'm hanging out to get working on 11 because it sounds like the new performance benefits on a laptop will be great. I'm using 90% UAD plugins when mixing though, so I can't upgrade til they're working. My laptop is being pushed to the limit, it's those damn spikes that interrupt playback...sounds like 11 is a lot more consistent in CPU usage, so it might completely eliminate that CPU spiking issue for me.

Come on UA!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-09-2013, 10:47 AM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default Re: Here is the skinny on UA plugins ...

7.1 is out now, new plugins, etc but... no AAX
__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the skinny on RAID? Martin Vipond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-03-2003 08:14 PM
Skinny on Reason bassbuddy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 12-22-2002 12:48 AM
The Skinny on ProTools HD mazuroo Post - Surround - Video 0 07-08-2002 12:13 AM
what's the skinny with Appletalk? smlworld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 02-08-2002 06:51 AM
What's the skinny on SCSI? Michael Cottrell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-06-2002 02:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com