Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2019, 01:04 AM
Dollaz.r11 Dollaz.r11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Nairobi
Posts: 1
Default Skootch for Pro Tools

Anyone know how to get this amazing software? Bob Nagy never responds to mails, or did he stop realising it?

I am in urgent neec of it
Apologies if i posted in wrong thread, my furst post here
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2020, 10:21 PM
boomspot boomspot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 36
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

Bump. Are people still using Skootch in 2020? Just installed PT on a new windows box and looking to improve the menu bars and general feel vs OSX.

Thanks,

B
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2020, 08:18 AM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 582
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

I'm still using it, but haven't had any communication with Bob in at least five years.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2021.10, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2020, 09:47 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,408
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

I'm still using Skootch on one one of our rigs, but it is getting long in the tooth.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2020, 10:12 AM
falcowe's Avatar
falcowe falcowe is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nashville, TN - USA
Posts: 110
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

Gah! I didn’t realize this existed. Being a Mac OSX convert there are some GUI bugs that really annoy me. I want Skootch too! However it sounds like Bob is off the Skootch grid. Any ideas how to get Skootch or any alternatives to Skootch?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2020, 12:33 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,408
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

IMHO, it would be really great if Avid could purchase Skootch from Bob, and incorporate it into Pro Tools for Windows.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2020, 12:55 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,399
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
IMHO, it would be really great if Avid could purchase Skootch from Bob, and incorporate it into Pro Tools for Windows.
That would be the one thing that would change my mind about not renewing my plan this year!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2020, 02:24 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,218
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom@metro View Post
imho, it would be really great if avid could purchase skootch from bob, and incorporate it into pro tools for windows.
+1000

__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2020.12 Studio One 5 Pro, REAPER 6
RME, Daking, Heritage, ISA, Sytek

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2020, 03:18 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 582
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

Yeah, that's a great idea. For those of us using PT in Windows with mis-matched multiple monitors, it's a real headache without it. But has Avid ever done anything like that before?
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2021.10, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-24-2020, 06:09 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 444
Default Re: Skootch for Pro Tools

Why is this still even needed in 2020? Why is there this ridiculous "container window" at all? Pro Tools is the least screen-space-efficient DAW out there; we lose all this space to double title bar *plus* separate menu bar, fat window borders. Cubase and Ableton both make much better use of available space and multiple monitors, but Avid is still using the 2010 design, which was created for single monitor setups.

A question, now that ideascale is gone. How do we submit feedback / ideas to Avid?
__________________
* Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme / Big Sur
* Macbook Air : M1 / 16gb / 1tb / Monterey
* PT 2021.10 / Ableton Suite 11
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skootch users: what's the latest version you got? Zarabozo Tips & Tricks 6 02-19-2020 09:11 AM
How are Sounbase/Workspace Not Movable Yet! (Skootch?) NateAlexander Pro Tools 2018 1 11-08-2019 08:33 PM
FS: Pro Tools HD 8 + Pro Tools HD 9 + Pro Tools 9 Bundle iLOK license Delta Music Belgium Buy & Sell 1 02-27-2019 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com