Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-30-2021, 06:41 PM
Undead Goat Undead Goat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Colorado Springs CO
Posts: 36
Default Re: Windows 11 Pro Tools still has Windows Vista style box

The whole ordeal with Mac vs PC is a dead horse that's been beaten to death in a firey death bed of brutality. Having a windows desktop with internal pci express expansion is great. Having separate, dedicated SSD's to organize the main apps and the operating system completely separated from the gigabytes upon gigabytes of plugin libraries, samples, project file directories and the like, keeps everything organized and efficient.

My PC performs like a dream. Rock solid in so far as the things you'd expect. Except, little things that annoy the living daylights out of me.

Media Composer, Sibelius, and Adobe run great. Pro Tools had little graphical glitches that, while I can still get work done, just makes this app unnecessarily quirky. graphical glitches that, for whatever reason seem to be non-existent if you had a different type of computer. a Mac computer.

I just have a harder time trying to rationalize the exorbitant maintenance cost of the software when it feels almost like the developers pick apart the new MacBooks with a magnifying glass making sure the software is fully supported and optimized for the shiny new m1 chips, while on the Windows side it's like "does it run if you click on the icon? OK good. Next?"

Take Carbon for example. It would be perfect for my needs. I have the budget for something like that. It's also not compatible with windows. There goes half the user base.

These days I'm inclined to believe pro tools might as well be Mac only, and now I'm placing some serious consideration into switching over to the shiny m1 Max. The issue now being that, I really don't need a new computer. My current one functions fine, is fast, stable, reliable... but can't take advantage of new avid hardware. It opens and I can get projects done, but it can't be optimized for high dpi screens. I have a budget for a new audio interface that can do more than my Omni, but I do not have the budget to buy an entirely new computer just because.

worse yet, If I get a Mac, the thunderbolt SSD's will probably be slightly slower than my PC's own internal SSD's (i know, it's a little bit ridiculous over here). Not to mention the dongles.

I think it's overall indicative of a systemic direction the company is heading in. Pro Tools is more marketable for apple computers, therefore it's more profitable to develop in. And yet, it's cross platform so it is reasonable that both versions should be consistent in utility, hardware support, and optimizations. Unfortunately this is not the case.

Pro Tools is great, don't get me wrong. But it's also gimped.

Last edited by Undead Goat; 10-30-2021 at 11:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-01-2021, 09:40 PM
lgreen100 lgreen100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 83
Default Re: Windows 11 Pro Tools still has Windows Vista style box

I never really noticed it until I read this thread! Guess that say how much it effects me!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-01-2021, 10:57 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,189
Default Re: Windows 11 Pro Tools still has Windows Vista style box

Quote:
Originally Posted by lgreen100 View Post
I never really noticed it until I read this thread! Guess that say how much it effects me!
+1
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-18-2021, 12:37 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 209
Default Re: Windows 11 Pro Tools still has Windows Vista style box

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
If your rig functions extremely well, they'll get over it & be happy.
Sure, but some workflows from my Mac Pro become impossible just due to the Parent/Child thing, and not being able to confidently grab a 4k screen does suck. Also, the client "why don't you have a Mac" thing does probably spring up more due to the archaic UI looks (even the XP style file management dialogs).
__________________
Windows 11, Intel i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.10

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, OSX Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.6

HDX2, HD I/O 16x16 and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista and Pro Tools Jon Oldroyd FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 4 10-18-2013 02:34 PM
Pro Tools LE 7.3 to 7.4 for Windows Vista OfficerOwl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-08-2010 02:22 AM
Original MBox with Windows Vista or Windows 7 JoshuaD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-16-2009 07:57 AM
Original MBox on Windows Vista or Windows 7 JoshuaD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-16-2009 07:50 AM
Windows Vista and Pro Tools 8 harlemrucker Tips & Tricks 7 02-27-2009 10:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com