Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2021, 07:42 PM
Mixedbyjoe Mixedbyjoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: New York
Posts: 5
Default HDX TB3 Chassis- Power Cable

Got a used HDX TB3 Desktop chassis, but it doesn't have a power cable for the HDX card. All the photos show the cards loaded without the power cable, but it definitely doesn't work without it. Avid says TCB-HDXB, but that's definitely not the correct one. Seems to be very little info on these boxes here and the web...

A- Did yours come with this cable?
B- Which one do I need?

Specifically, this is for use with my MacBook Pro 16,1 OS 10.15.7 PT 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2021, 07:16 PM
mriegler's Avatar
mriegler mriegler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 54
Default Re: HDX TB3 Chassis- Power Cable

Typically a selection (2 or 3) of power cables ship with the HDX card. Sonnet i think has a black 6-pin female cluster in a 2x3 config with a latch, the card has that black female 4x1 config (also as a triple daisy chain to connect up to HDX3). There's some alternatives to connect to PC 4-pin disk drive power etc...

The pix below show the included with HDX card standard power cable and an Avid TB3 rack mount chassis (which is Sonnet). And that works fine. Not sure, where to source them best, saw some overpriced on eBay upon googling "HDX card power cable". Attached the part number sticker from their posting if you want to try to get it from Avid as a spare. Or if anybody on here bought 2 HDX cards, they get 2 cables but in an HDX2 system of course only need one...

Their recommended cable appears to be the result of a change with a particular Sonnet eGFX chassis, so they thought you might need that cable (assuming you had the one that came with the card and not being able to use it).

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...erbolt-chassis
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_8933.jpg (39.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8932.jpg (37.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_8931.jpg (42.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2021-10-23 at 6.30.12 PM.jpg (36.3 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by mriegler; 10-23-2021 at 07:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2021, 06:48 AM
Mixedbyjoe Mixedbyjoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: New York
Posts: 5
Default Re: HDX TB3 Chassis- Power Cable

Thank you! That’s exactly what I was looking for. I had found that article but it referenced a different chassis so I couldn’t confirm.
__________________
Mac OS 10.15.7 Lynx Hilo Pro Tools HDX (Latest)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2021, 11:32 AM
mriegler's Avatar
mriegler mriegler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 54
Default Re: HDX TB3 Chassis- Power Cable

BHPhoto seems to have it at MSRP 39.99, but should be able to be sourced through any Avid dealer. No need to go to pricey eBay scalpers...

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...YaAjELEALw_wcB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magma and SBS 7 Slot Chassis Cable #'s ??? Table Syrup Records Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 09-27-2010 12:56 PM
Magma Chassis Cable (old one) needed syMPh Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-05-2009 02:43 PM
Digidesign/SBS 7slot exp chassis Cable HELP!! tubejay Digidesign Hardware & Software 10 03-21-2008 01:01 PM
longer cable for expansion chassis? venusmuzik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-20-2002 10:05 AM
expansion chassis cable indigo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-11-2000 08:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com