Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2024, 09:28 AM
Bob Katz Bob Katz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47
Default Downgrade from Ultimate to Studio

One more question: Do I lose any immersive or Atmos-related features if I downgrade to Studio?


Thanks,



Bob


------------------------
I wrote:


With the upcoming Avid price increase I'm very tempted to try to downgrade my Perpetual Ultimate subscription to Studio. I think I would need handholding from Avid to enable that as there is no built in downgrade feature that I know of.

But exactly what features do I lose and how important are they to me?

Studying this page:

https://www.avid.com/pro-tools/comparison

1) I see fewer audio tracks in Studio, but honestly, 512 is orders of magnitude more tracks than I have ever needed for music mixing.

2) I also see that Ultimate offers "Full Audio Post Workflows". Can someone please tell me what workflows I would lose if I downgrade to Studio. Thanks.

3) I see that only Ultimate supports the HDIO. That's crazy, Avid!!!!!! Is that true? In one studio have an HDIO with digilink and I certainly need to keep that working. In the other studio I have a third party interface so it would not be a problem.

Thanks for any clarification you fellow DUCs can provide.

Last edited by Bob Katz; 04-02-2024 at 09:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2024, 09:59 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,193
Default Re: Downgrade from Ultimate to Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Katz View Post
3) I see that only Ultimate supports the HDIO. That's crazy, Avid!!!!!! Is that true? In one studio have an HDIO with digilink and I certainly need to keep that working. In the other studio I have a third party interface so it would not be a problem.
Any digilink-connected hardware needs Ultimate. Third-party or Avid doesn't matter.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2024, 10:26 AM
tope d's Avatar
tope d tope d is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 535
Default Re: Downgrade from Ultimate to Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Katz View Post

Studying this page:

https://www.avid.com/pro-tools/comparison


2) I also see that Ultimate offers "Full Audio Post Workflows". Can someone please tell me what workflows I would lose if I downgrade to Studio. Thanks.

I guess it includes the capability of having more than 1 video track. Up to 64, and some video editing tools.
__________________
-Tope

To create a support case with Avid Support, go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

www.topedomingo.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Downgrade from my Avid Omni to Mbox Studio? chrisdee MBOX Studio 16 12-21-2023 09:11 AM
How to downgrade from Ultimate sub to Studio? Hud Licensing & Accounts 4 06-12-2023 01:09 PM
Ultimate vs Studio Question tomhartman Pro Tools 4 05-30-2023 06:17 AM
DOWNGRADE To Artist From Studio? LightWing Licensing & Accounts 3 09-27-2022 11:53 AM
Downgrade to PT Ultimate 2020.9.1 Reckless Erik Pro Tools 2020 11 11-18-2020 11:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com