Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-28-2019, 09:27 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,903
Default Re: CPU question mono vs stereo

With that said; for most studios 128 tracks and 32 simultaneous i/o was just a wet dream two decades ago. More so if those 128 tracks can be stereo, with one video track synced to the session.

You needed MIX2 in 1998 or HD1 in 2002 for 32 i/o, remember... and even with HD1 your voice count was 96 (!) so current standard software has come a really long way.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-28-2019, 09:30 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 663
Default Re: CPU question mono vs stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes, that is a voice. But standard software is not about voices, that ad material is talking about tracks (mono or stereo bcs greater-than-stereo are not available). Voices are only used/calculated in HD/Ultimate. Maybe if all users could do their math it would have been simpler for Avid to allow 256 voices for standard software but as most are only counting tracks limiting to 128 seems sensible.
Well that's clear as mud. :)

Never having been a Vanilla user, I was just going by what they say on the website, which apparently is incorrect.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-08-28 at 12.31.58 PM.jpg (14.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-08-28 at 12.32.12 PM.jpg (17.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.9.8, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 12.7.4
Pro Tools Ultimate 2024.3.1/HD Driver 2023.3 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-28-2019, 09:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,903
Default Re: CPU question mono vs stereo

Not incorrect, but not clearly said either.

Standard software is about tracks
Ultimate software is about voices

That's why they say tracks/voices, but no explanation what it means.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-28-2019, 11:53 PM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 315
Default Re: CPU question mono vs stereo

Quote:
No, Vanilla can play 128 VOICES at 48k. That would be 128 mono tracks or 64 stereo tracks.
I'm not on my Vanilla system right now but I remember definitely playing 80+ stereo tracks in a session.

I think it's 128 mono or stereo tracks.
__________________
Mac Studio - Ventura- 64 Gb ram - SSD int 2T - SSD ext 4T - Antelope Galaxy 32
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-29-2019, 02:22 PM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 619
Default Re: CPU question mono vs stereo

It plays 128 stereo tracks. I Did the test.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 | Mac OS 12.6.1 Monterey | Avid Carbon + 2x Carbon Pre | Pro Tools Studio 2024.3
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-29-2019, 09:46 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 934
Default Re: CPU question mono vs stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
With that said; for most studios 128 tracks and 32 simultaneous i/o was just a wet dream two decades ago. More so if those 128 tracks can be stereo, with one video track synced to the session.

You needed MIX2 in 1998 or HD1 in 2002 for 32 i/o, remember... and even with HD1 your voice count was 96 (!) so current standard software has come a really long way.
It's about time somebody said this, but you're preaching to the choir as nobody really cares these days. It's all about what have you done for me lately sad to say.
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
Win 10 Pro

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-15-2024, 08:40 PM
Coconut_Head Coconut_Head is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Location: Nashville
Posts: 25
Default Re: CPU question mono vs stereo

So did you find out if stereo plugins use more resources that mono plugins?

It's likely that they do imo, but it's even more likely to me that multi-mono plugins use twice the CPU than mono.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo to mono question stixman Tips & Tricks 1 09-01-2016 01:45 PM
A question about mono/stereo plug ins on mono tracks. rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 2 12-24-2011 07:33 PM
mono/stereo question studiokeyz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-13-2008 01:25 PM
Stereo / Mono question Daubian Tips & Tricks 2 03-16-2007 04:26 PM
Stereo or mono, that's the question. rgr VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 03-06-2006 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com