Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > System 5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2024, 07:54 AM
[email protected] scottlwilson@live.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2024
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2
Default AM713 & MA 703 Clock Chips

Hello,


I've recently been having clocking issues with 713 and 703 converters and believe it is the clock chips that have gone bad.


Neither will accept incoming clock and still looking into other clocking methods, but it's looking like these chips are cashed in.


Does Avid still supply these as parts?


Thanks,


Scott Wilson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2024, 12:39 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,193
Default Re: AM713 & MA 703 Clock Chips

No. Years ago (5+) that parts bin was empty. We got rid of our Euphonix converters for that reason. Once the crystal goes, it's over.

We contemplated buying used ones and creating our own parts bin by stripping them down but it just seemed like a money pit solution. (Sunken cost fallacy)

(You might want to check with companies that continued servicing the System 5 after it was end-of-life'd by Avid like Advanced Musical Electronics -- they are in LA and there are still a lot of System 5 units running here. They might have a spare parts bin with the crystal module.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2024, 01:19 PM
[email protected] scottlwilson@live.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2024
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2
Default Re: AM713 & MA 703 Clock Chips

Thanks for the insight.


Scott
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2024, 05:07 PM
scenaria scenaria is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 185
Default Re: AM713 & MA 703 Clock Chips

Check Euphonix system 5 group on Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ML530 and AM713 allocation. MarcOFB System 5 2 03-26-2019 10:21 PM
Best way to merge AM713/MA703 MADI streams fm_xtk System 5 0 11-23-2018 09:42 AM
So is DDR Ram all that and a bag of chips? qbert1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-28-2003 07:21 AM
Available chips on HD1? undertone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-30-2002 04:56 PM
AMD chips Shawn G 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-04-2000 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com