Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2013, 03:01 PM
SamboBing SamboBing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Default Plugin Preset Save - Can't locate settings folder

So I finally got through the iLok issue and am able to run PT 11. I'm just using the stock plugins at the moment and I noticed that none of them show a list of presets - they just list Factory Default. Further, when I make a change and try to save a preset, I get a dialog that indicates Pro Tools can't locate the settings folder.

Anyone else have the same issue?

BTW, I am running a Mac, Mountain Lion 10.8.4.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2013, 03:20 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,980
Default Re: Plugin Preset Save - Can't locate settings folder

All of them?

I just checked, and I am getting presets fine, and I can save. If you click "Save Setting As" that should show the containing folder. I'm on Windows 8 by the way, so it may be different on OSX.

Attachment 380
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2013, 03:30 PM
SamboBing SamboBing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Plugin Preset Save - Can't locate settings folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
All of them?

I just checked, and I am getting presets fine, and I can save. If you click "Save Setting As" that should show the containing folder. I'm on Windows 8 by the way, so it may be different on OSX.

Attachment 380
Thanks for your response, Benoni.

Yes, all the plugins exhibit the same behavior. It get the error message regardless of choosing "Save Settings" or "Save Settings As". If I choose the Presets drop down, then Settings Preferences, then Save Plugin Settings To, then choose Session Folder, it works fine. If instead of the Sessions Folder, I leave it at Root Folder, that's when I get the error message. It's almost like the install didn't complete a step or something.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2013, 03:46 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: Plugin Preset Save - Can't locate settings folder

In Pro Tools 11 you can now determine the location of your basic settings, including plug-in settings.
Go to Pro Tools Preferences/Operation

Then at the bottom left under "User Library" change the root.
Or put your plug-in settings backup to the root location you'll see there.


Oliver
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2013, 04:01 PM
SamboBing SamboBing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Plugin Preset Save - Can't locate settings folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
In Pro Tools 11 you can now determine the location of your basic settings, including plug-in settings.
Go to Pro Tools Preferences/Operation

Then at the bottom left under "User Library" change the root.
Or put your plug-in settings backup to the root location you'll see there.


Oliver
Thanks Oliver. I got it to work based on your suggestion. In case anyone else runs into this, here is what I had to do:

1) My user Library was pointing to a directory in my home directory - keep in mind the install configured this, it wasn't something I setup myself.

2) I had to change this to Library->Application Support->DigiDesign

Once I did this, my presets came back and I was able to save settings, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Unable to locate the settings folder" plugin error question GoodandEvil Pro Tools 11 1 12-30-2013 04:55 PM
Import session data, plugin settings preset name crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-02-2011 07:37 AM
Unable to save session copies w/ Root Settings Folder nuancerec 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-03-2011 02:05 PM
How to save preset settings on tl space or other plugins? sonny7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-11-2009 11:30 AM
Cannot save plug-in settings to Root Settings folder SimonORorke Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-18-2008 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com