Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2008, 09:45 AM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Whish LE had a large Meter View

Upgraded to an 003 and now have 18 ins. Did my first drum session (in PT) with 12 tracks of drums, scratch bass, scratch guit and scratch voc. Was having some problems with levels since PT doesn't correlate with my analog board. So I hit the test tone button on my board and boy, the signals were all over the place. 1~4 can be adjusted but 5~8, 9~16 and 17 & 18 cannot. My guess is this doesn't really matter with digital but it screams for a better view of PT's meters. My other systems include 2" tape and Tascam's MX-2424 and all of the meters match perfectly. Plus in MX-View I could put up an entire screen of input meters which you can see from anywhere across the room. This makes it much easier to track and is number 1 on my "PT Wish List."
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2008, 10:24 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: Whish LE had a large Meter View

You can bring up the track view for the meter, which will give you a "taller" meter.

Also, hold down CTRL-WINDOWS KEY-ALT and click on the meters in the mix window to make them "wider."

I agree that PT could use better metering, although I've never actually found myself needing better meters.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2008, 06:32 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Whish LE had a large Meter View

AlexLakis, thanks for the response but the problem with that is if you make them taller you can only see 3 or 4 of them, if your tracking live, 16 ~ 18 tracks, you need to have a good view of all of them at a glance especially since they don't correlate with the meters on your board!
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2008, 06:41 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: Whish LE had a large Meter View

As far as I know, holding down CTRL (or is it SHIFT...been working with Nuendo lately at another studio and I'm getting my key commands mixed up...) will allow you to bring up as many of them as you want?

I agree, tho, the default meters in Pro Tools are pretty small and generally uninformative. Luckily this does not affect my work (I've never had a problem with the meters not correlating either,) but it seems you've run into an instance where more informative metering could help you. It'd be nice if they made an option in the mix window where the meter could dominate most of the track's real estate. Kind of like the "supersize" transport bar or whatever.

Would inserting a metering plugin on each track and bringing up each of those plugin windows so they're all displayed at the same time do it for you?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Score view slow with large templates dterry Windows 0 12-08-2010 03:49 PM
large Aux view stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-22-2009 04:20 AM
Notation view unusable for large sessions PTcomposer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-24-2009 06:56 PM
"Volume" Increment In "Large" View has Changed Infa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-18-2004 05:48 AM
New free RTAS plugs - large peak meter and multiband frequency display. jkaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-03-2002 05:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com