Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2011, 05:02 AM
spencer335 spencer335 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 3
Default Is there any use at all for my original Mbox?

My Dell w/ XP is about to die, I'm most likely to replace it with a Windows 7 box. Once I get there, my Pro Tools LE will not be compatible (need 8.0.4 or higher). If i go to 8.0.4 or higher, my original MBox is not supported.

I bought the mBox on a whim in 2004 but today use Pro Tools to about 10% of it's capabilities today (as an occasional scratch pad for new tunes).

If you were in my boat - would you recommend:

1) Use something else as an audio interface for Pro Tools LE 8.0.4? Is that possible?
2) Use the original MBox as an audio interface for something else? Is that possible?
3) Bite the bullet and get a new MBox Mini as I might use more features someday

Thanks for any input ...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2011, 07:58 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,723
Default Re: Is there any use at all for my original Mbox?

Skip 1 and 2. The Mini is not going to offer any extra features(actually fewer with only 1 preamp), so I would opt for the Mbox3. Better preamps and converters, plus midi IO. If money is really tight, then a used Mbox 2 or Mbox 2 PRO would also be a decent move.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2011, 12:41 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Is there any use at all for my original Mbox?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spencer335 View Post
My Dell w/ XP is about to die, I'm most likely to replace it with a Windows 7 box. Once I get there, my Pro Tools LE will not be compatible (need 8.0.4 or higher). If i go to 8.0.4 or higher, my original MBox is not supported.

I bought the mBox on a whim in 2004 but today use Pro Tools to about 10% of it's capabilities today (as an occasional scratch pad for new tunes).

If you were in my boat - would you recommend:

1) Use something else as an audio interface for Pro Tools LE 8.0.4? Is that possible?
2) Use the original MBox as an audio interface for something else? Is that possible?
3) Bite the bullet and get a new MBox Mini as I might use more features someday

Thanks for any input ...
__________________
I would at least try a dual boot setup with XP and W7 if you have the time. You can use the mbox up to PT 8.0.1 and it still sounds great. You might be able to do this with very little pain if you're a little computer savvy. The three options you mentioned for me wouldn't be any because 1. Pro Tools 8 and below only runs on it's own hardware. 2. I use Pro Tools so I wouldn't want to go to another DAW software for this reason. 3. I would definitely upgrade only if I were in business and I wouldn't upgrade to a mbox mini, I would probably upgrade to a fast track pro or 2626 something along those lines. Actually I would upgrade to a JCF audio interface.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2011, 04:19 PM
spencer335 spencer335 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 3
Default Re: Is there any use at all for my original Mbox?

Quote:
Originally Posted by caruso7r View Post
I would at least try to dual boot setup with XP and W7 if you have the time. .
That's an interesting suggestion ... thanks.

curious if there will be any hardware limitations even if I'm running XP on a new box (new dual core chips, etc). I'd much prefer to spend $60 for an XP disk on eBay than hundreds of dollars for an mBox and PT LE software that I already own.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2011, 04:32 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Is there any use at all for my original Mbox?

Just get a new interface. Don't cut corners! I sold my Mbox to for $150. I'm sure you can find a similar priced one now, especially now that the Mbox 3 is out!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2011, 07:17 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Is there any use at all for my original Mbox?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spencer335 View Post
That's an interesting suggestion ... thanks.

curious if there will be any hardware limitations even if I'm running XP on a new box (new dual core chips, etc). I'd much prefer to spend $60 for an XP disk on eBay than hundreds of dollars for an mBox and PT LE software that I already own.
Hardware wise I can't think of any limitations between the mbox and the mbox 2. Don't remember what kink of preamps they have for the mbox 3 but since you already have the original you can work right away without spending a few hundred dollars. You can always choose to buy down the line especially when things go on sale.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second hand original Mbox vs new Mbox 2 Mini east 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-09-2012 04:31 PM
Original Mbox, W7 and PT8 jsp_1983 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-14-2011 09:18 AM
Please compare original mbox to mbox mini... mbart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-22-2009 12:04 PM
New Mbox 2 Pro 7.4 install - dead - 7.1 was fine with original Mbox - HELP! gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-25-2008 06:18 PM
MBox MINI or MBox Classic (Original) epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-25-2007 02:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com