Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2005, 09:47 AM
skyking skyking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 607
Default Waves update plan recommended????

i use the waves mastering software and just got an email from them telling me i only have 14 days left to get their update plan.......does anyone recommend paying an additional fee for this or is this wasted money? chas
__________________
Digi 002 on windows xp pro .. pentium 4 @ 1.6 ghz....intel 845 chip...gigabyte p4 titan MB....seagate hd.....40 and 120 gb @7200....1 gig of ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2005, 10:26 AM
SimpleNatureSpirit SimpleNatureSpirit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 876
Default Re: Waves update plan recommended????

Now that Waves has introduced a new policy that will not allow you to sell you software unless you are current on the WUP, you have to ask yourself if you're happy with the product as is or if you think you might get an update you simply can't live without over the next year. In the worst case, your Waves software will not be compatable with the next release of ProTools LE. Another option to getting a WUP to your current product, you can upgrade your product if that's is available in your Waves account and you would automatically get another year of WUP.

Also be aware, that is you have your Waves software license on an iLok, iLok too charges $100- and the $25- if you sell your software. If you are authorizing through your hard drive, I am not sure if it requires a current WUP to get new codes in case you hard drive has to be replaced. This would be worth asking them. Please let us know what you find out on this.

At the moment, many her eon the DUC are very unhappy about this latest policy change. For the money you'll be spending on a WUP, you could buy some other cool stuff and simply use what you have. I would recommend boycotting Waves until they change their 'resale' policy and let them know why you are not updating. Waves is setting a very bad precedent for consumers all in the name of piracy protection. In this case, it has become a matter of greed. $150- transfer fee was bad enough, but we agreed to that. Being up to date on WUP, this is not something many of us agreed to at the time we purchased our bundles.
__________________
Share the gift gifted to you
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2005, 10:28 AM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Waves update plan recommended????

AS I understand it, buying their cheapest plugin (even if you already have it) gets you into the WUP for much less than paying the fee they ask for to renew your WUP license.

There is something seriously wrong in the manegement of Waves at the moment!!!!!!! These corporate guys (and perhaps woman) obviously know nothing about Music and musicians...
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2005, 11:14 AM
Keith Owens Keith Owens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Waves update plan recommended????

Quote:
AS I understand it, buying their cheapest plugin (even if you already have it) gets you into the WUP for much less than paying the fee they ask for to renew your WUP license.

no, this is not true. I thought it was true too, I had the restoration Bundle and the Platinum Bundle (both V4) and rumor was if you bought a new bundle, any bundle, you could have version 5. Well I bought the Musicians Bundle thinking this, and it was not true. The bundle must be a higher version than what you already have.
__________________
soon to be back at it again...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: Your Waves Update Plan is About to Expire Touchwood Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 63 03-01-2017 01:01 PM
WAVES AAX-- You Don't Need an Active WUP Plan! crandallwarren AAX Plug-ins 30 12-16-2014 03:23 AM
waves sell out,update plan tobias bluth Pro Tools 9 0 11-23-2011 05:00 PM
Introducing Waves Rental Plan? soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-08-2009 11:18 PM
Changes to Waves Update Plan gives Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-29-2007 04:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com