Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-28-2022, 07:42 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 636
Default Re: Transitioning from Cheesegrater to Mac Studio: a few questions

Just a quick progress report as I transition from the cheese grater to the Studio. SO glad I opted for 1 1TB drive. After Downloading PT, Logic Final Cut BFD Reason and Sampletank and Arturia Virtual 7 I've already 300GB used. Obviously more storage is better but the jump to 2TB is steep. Long story short, I think 1TB is the minimum you would want to go to if ordering a Studio. In the short term I have numerous 1TB Sata drives and for 30 bucks you can get a USB-c to SATA connector which should be more than fast enough for the projects I am working on. So far I'm pretty happy with my purchase. Next up will be getting all my Waves, Eventide and other plugs up and running. I'm not using migration assistant yet for anything. Once I have a stable system I want to start bringing over all my presets for all my various plugins. I'm in no rush to do this fast. I just want a nice stable platform. Thanks as always to all the wonderful folks on this group. I've been on this group since 2001. Rarely I get to help people even more inept than me, mostly though, I benefit from those more adept than me. Yours in music Brian
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.9 2022 Mac Studio RME UFX. Neve 5012, Sonic farm Creamer+. 45 years of instruments.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:06 AM
Carl Lie Carl Lie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,232
Default Re: Transitioning from Cheesegrater to Mac Studio: a few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by b mcgibney View Post
Just a quick progress report as I transition from the cheese grater to the Studio. SO glad I opted for 1 1TB drive. After Downloading PT, Logic Final Cut BFD Reason and Sampletank and Arturia Virtual 7 I've already 300GB used. Obviously more storage is better but the jump to 2TB is steep. Long story short, I think 1TB is the minimum you would want to go to if ordering a Studio. In the short term I have numerous 1TB Sata drives and for 30 bucks you can get a USB-c to SATA connector which should be more than fast enough for the projects I am working on. So far I'm pretty happy with my purchase. Next up will be getting all my Waves, Eventide and other plugs up and running. I'm not using migration assistant yet for anything. Once I have a stable system I want to start bringing over all my presets for all my various plugins. I'm in no rush to do this fast. I just want a nice stable platform. Thanks as always to all the wonderful folks on this group. I've been on this group since 2001. Rarely I get to help people even more inept than me, mostly though, I benefit from those more adept than me. Yours in music Brian
Curious which processor you chose and RAM amount?

C
__________________
PT 2021.10 HDX 16x24 -Mac Pro 12 Cores 48 GB RAM OS 10.13.6 - API 16 channel - AMS Neve 16 channel, AMS-Neve-SSL -Pres/Processing, Bock Audio, BLUE Bottle, Neumann, Josephson -Mics, Bogner, Kemper- Guitar, Chandler Zener-Curve Bender Outboard/Master. UAudio, Waves, Plugin Alliance etc.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-07-2022, 10:01 AM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 352
Default Re: Transitioning from Cheesegrater to Mac Studio: a few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by b mcgibney View Post
Just a quick progress report as I transition from the cheese grater to the Studio. SO glad I opted for 1 1TB drive. After Downloading PT, Logic Final Cut BFD Reason and Sampletank and Arturia Virtual 7 I've already 300GB used. Obviously more storage is better but the jump to 2TB is steep. Long story short, I think 1TB is the minimum you would want to go to if ordering a Studio. In the short term I have numerous 1TB Sata drives and for 30 bucks you can get a USB-c to SATA connector which should be more than fast enough for the projects I am working on. So far I'm pretty happy with my purchase. Next up will be getting all my Waves, Eventide and other plugs up and running. I'm not using migration assistant yet for anything. Once I have a stable system I want to start bringing over all my presets for all my various plugins. I'm in no rush to do this fast. I just want a nice stable platform. Thanks as always to all the wonderful folks on this group. I've been on this group since 2001. Rarely I get to help people even more inept than me, mostly though, I benefit from those more adept than me. Yours in music Brian

I went from a 12core 2010 Mac Pro to the 2022 Mac Studio Max. Yes, getting the 1TB SSD should be the standard. I picked the 1TB/32GB model and it runs very well. I was able to use about 29GB of ram while running a few tests with the video engine enabled and trying out the new UADx plugins. If I had to did it all over again I would have went with 1TB/64GB for a little extra comfort lol. But I will see what the M2 or M3 units have to offer down the line and then upgrade if needed.

While waiting for the new computer to be delivered, I created a folder and started downloading all the software I needed. I already had all my presets uploaded to Dropbox. Once the Mac Studio arrived I move the folder over and started a fresh install of everything as time went on. This also gave me another chance to get rid of any software or plugins I wasn't using. Once I was happy with testing sessions out I made the permanent switch.





Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Darryl covered pretty much everything(and I 100% agree that Migration Assistant would be a disaster). Back to one of your first comments about monitor screens, you could go quite a bit bigger if you think vertical instead of horizontal. Check my setup with a pair of 32" screens with a 22" on top that holds stuff I don't need to look at a lot. The bottom screen is laid back like the Slate MTi2, but its not a touchscreen(I went down that rabbit hole and then crawled back out)

Man, I was looking at doing a similar setup. What 32" monitors and resolution setting are you using? I'm currently using a 34" LG 1080p monitor. Thanks
__________________
System info
https://duc.avid.com/member.php?u=57185



"please stop OVERcomplicating simple things"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,450
Default Re: Transitioning from Cheesegrater to Mac Studio: a few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by b mcgibney View Post
In the short term I have numerous 1TB Sata drives and for 30 bucks you can get a USB-c to SATA connector which should be more than fast enough for the projects I am working on.
While SATA SSDs may be fast enough for you. There are faster options if you are interested. Your Mac Studio has 4 Thunderbollt ports on the back and you can get a Thunderbolt chassis to add one or more NVME SSDs. It is not as fast as the internal SSD in these newer Macs, but faster than SATA SSDs.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 12.6 running Protools 2022.10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater mightyduck Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 62 03-31-2020 04:38 AM
4,1 cheesegrater with thunderbolt? Audiosweeet macOS 4 11-25-2019 06:58 AM
Bluray in a 2012 MacPro cheesegrater musicman691 General Discussion 2 01-07-2019 06:16 AM
transitioning from OS9 to OSX 10.3 ChrisNP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-29-2005 03:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com