Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2022, 11:38 AM
samxnova samxnova is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: New York
Posts: 7
Default Back and play in PT Studio Version.

Just upgraded to Studio version and back and play is not working.
is this just in Ultimate version?
__________________
Rock Studios Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2022, 03:25 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

It was previously an Ultimate only feature. If it doesn't show up in Preferences then it's not available.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2022, 03:35 PM
samxnova samxnova is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: New York
Posts: 7
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

Thanks Will.
that's a very odd feature to drop from Mid tier Protools.
__________________
Rock Studios Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2022, 09:31 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by samxnova View Post
Thanks Will.
that's a very odd feature to drop from Mid tier Protools.
Yes a lot of them are!
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2022, 08:28 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,943
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

What other features (besides Back + Play) are you referring to as an odd omission for Pro Tools Studio? Thanks.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2022, 09:11 AM
nsureit nsureit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 125
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by samxnova View Post
Just upgraded to Studio version and back and play is not working.
is this just in Ultimate version?
Post of the year.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2022, 09:58 AM
TheFilterLab TheFilterLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 66
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
What other features (besides Back + Play) are you referring to as an odd omission for Pro Tools Studio? Thanks.


Jeff
Only being able to have one video clip in a session.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2022, 07:44 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
What other features (besides Back + Play) are you referring to as an odd omission for Pro Tools Studio? Thanks.


Jeff
I started to jot things down when these tiers were released and can't find but a few.

Clip auto fade

The one video clip for sure. I understand one video track and no editing, but one clip is a hassle.

"Advanced audio post toolset".

No Icon support (which I realize are long discontinued but the protocol is there just locked out)

The limit on Auxes.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2022, 06:17 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,943
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

Thanks, I will investigate Clip Auto Fade.

128 AUX Tracks is insufficient for most of your projects?

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2022, 05:10 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Back and play in PT Studio Version.

Hi Jeff, by the way I do appreciate you and Eddie Jones being so engaged on the forums. Thanks for that.

I suppose with the Auxes one would only use that many on feature film post so I see your point.

It's not for me personally, rather for colleagues I occasionally collaborate with. I've been on Ultimate / HD / TDM for a long time so I guess I'm used to everything being available. Two tiers was straight forward to navigate. Four is complicated.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back + Play priorytools Avid S4/S6 3 10-21-2014 12:19 AM
Pro Tools 9 LE wont play back songs Ive recorded with 8.04 le version! R u kiddin? shamanrock Pro Tools 9 8 11-13-2010 03:53 PM
Play back only in one ear Hambone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-04-2010 06:05 PM
play back einstagtor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-28-2005 11:16 AM
Digital feed back on play back after Bounce drew88 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-12-2005 02:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com