Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-28-2022, 02:01 PM
chrisVVS chrisVVS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

This is my template :)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-28-2022, 02:02 PM
chrisVVS chrisVVS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

My template
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2022, 10:15 AM
chrisVVS chrisVVS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

After a lot of trial and error, I've worked out a better way of doing this - using AUX IO and Nexus together.

-AUX IO lets you use interfaces on your system as IO in Pro Tools.
-Source Nexus lets you create them.
-The IO window lets you use them in Pro Tools, making the plug-in unnecessary.

That means I can create input and output pairs in Nexus and use them for Teams, Zoom etc. These same ins and outs appear in the AUX IO list, and can be routed directly into/from tracks in Pro Tools, meaning there's no need for the plug-in. Screenshot attached below - note that all the sends and inputs are now hardware inputs. I could route Zoom, Teams etc. to individual master faders but I've left the sends post fade so te channel fader's doing the same thing.

https://dropover.cloud/887e8e

And my IO:

https://dropover.cloud/544de1

No need to look at Source Nexus plug-ins to check IO anymore - just look at the send or channel.

If anyone sees any other problems doing it this way I'd be glad to know.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2022, 11:41 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisVVS View Post
After a lot of trial and error, I've worked out a better way of doing this - using AUX IO and Nexus together.

-AUX IO lets you use interfaces on your system as IO in Pro Tools.
-Source Nexus lets you create them.
-The IO window lets you use them in Pro Tools, making the plug-in unnecessary.

That means I can create input and output pairs in Nexus and use them for Teams, Zoom etc. These same ins and outs appear in the AUX IO list, and can be routed directly into/from tracks in Pro Tools, meaning there's no need for the plug-in. Screenshot attached below - note that all the sends and inputs are now hardware inputs. I could route Zoom, Teams etc. to individual master faders but I've left the sends post fade so te channel fader's doing the same thing.

https://dropover.cloud/887e8e

And my IO:

https://dropover.cloud/544de1

No need to look at Source Nexus plug-ins to check IO anymore - just look at the send or channel.

If anyone sees any other problems doing it this way I'd be glad to know.
Correct, PTAB makes source-nexus virtually obsolete with Pro Tools. You didn't mention you were on at least PT 2022.9 with Aux IO.

Note. You can make your own devices with PTAB. Follow these instructions. It's not as slick as Nexus Control but it works just the same.

How can I change the configuration of Pro Tools Audio Bridge.

Quit any applications that are using Pro Tools Audio Bridge.
Find the ProToolsAudioBridge.config file and copy it to your desktop. This will help prevent accidental renaming.

Located: Macintosh HD/Library/Audio/PlugIns/HAL/ProToolsAudioBridge.driver/Contents/Resources/

Open the file with any text editor.

Add, remove, or modify an existing line to add, remove, or change the device listings.
The first number is the channel count, followed by the name of the device.

Save and close the file.
Drag it back into the original location, and replace the previous file.
It is important to keep the file name the same.

Reboot the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-30-2022, 12:00 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,978
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

I do the same kind of routing with RME's TotalMix. Never have to use the Source-Connect or SonoBus plug-in, I route directly to the standalone dialogue. Also, easy to route into and out of browser apps like Microsoft Teams and Zoom. All routing recallable with a click.

Since I have a plug-in monitoring chain for my mic that I don't want to feed to the remote end recording studio using Source-Connect or SonoBus, I have Pre-Fader Sends, so I can raise or lower the gain going out with the Send and not change the level of the signal in my headphones. I already have proper gain-staging at my pre for my end.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-30-2022, 02:44 PM
chrisVVS chrisVVS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

Smashing job, thanks everyone :)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-30-2022, 04:44 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,876
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

FYI, we're replacing Nexus w/ the basic Audio Bridge offered in PT *for free* and it's been fantastic. No more headaches associated with Source Elements. Sounds like you're getting it worked out, too. Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-30-2022, 04:46 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 1,032
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

I'm going to have to try this also... might be tricky setting up this whole mix minus matrix again, but it all sounds pretty positive.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacStudio Ultra / LogicProX / IzotopeRX10+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-01-2022, 09:30 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,167
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

The only thing that the Audio Bridge doesn't handle, that Source Nexus does, is SRC - if you're working within a 96k session (for example) and your other sources are 48k (like Zoom) AB won't handle SRC and won't work in the session. Source Nexus handles this easily and seamlessly. That said, a colleague told me yesterday that Loopback (Rogue Amoeba) *will* handle SRC - I haven't tried it but if it's true it would eliminate the need for Source Nexus.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2022.6 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-01-2022, 10:26 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,978
Default Re: Source Nexus noise bursts on closing session

Not sure if the offerings from www.gingeraudio.com also do SRC, but it may also be an option if they do.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Source-Nexus vs Source-Connect Standard ??? EGS Windows 20 06-10-2022 11:52 AM
Source Elements releases Windows version of Source-Nexus sourceelements Partner Announcements 0 01-31-2022 09:21 AM
Source Nexus Alternative Ben Wood Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 01-05-2022 10:03 AM
Sale: Source Elements' Source Nexus Basic and Pro SoundByLaura Buy & Sell 1 01-01-2017 09:30 PM
Noise bursts and clicks when opening session janmuths 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-05-2008 10:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com