Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2022, 06:05 AM
Chevron Chevron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Europe
Posts: 165
Default Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

In a U-Turn it seems Avid is dropping the Flex name, to revert back to Ultimate. Along with a healthy price drop

Pro Tools Info
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7.0 | Eucon 2022.9 | Mac OS 11.6 | Lynx Hilo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2022, 06:35 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 396
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate



More development, less marketing...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2022, 06:47 AM
EdwardWilliam's Avatar
EdwardWilliam EdwardWilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Las Vegas & Santa Fe, NM USA
Posts: 67
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

Flex is as flex does.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Edward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2022, 06:52 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 486
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

It is, broadly speaking, a good decision.

For those of us with perpetual licenses it is a bit stinging to be paying $400 a year for updates, in comparison.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2022, 07:02 AM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 574
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

I have Ultimate at $400/yr. I still don’t understand what the difference is.
__________________
Apple M1 Mac Studio (base model)
HD Native PCI-e in an Echo Express SE 1 chassis
HD Omni with SSL XLogic MADI-AX and MADI-HD

Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/sparkletune/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2022, 08:01 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 486
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by noah330 View Post
I have Ultimate at $400/yr. I still don’t understand what the difference is.
There are two types of license.

Perpetual, which you and I have.
It was $2k ish for a new license and the $400 is for the yearly update plan.

Avid have just lowered the price of the second license, the subscription, which was a grand but is now $600, including the updates for 12 months.

Avid are, fairly obviously, trying to entice people away from perpetual licenses.
Initially it was because Flex had *loads of stuff that Ultimate didn't.
That changed and Flex and Ultimate basically became the same, Ultimate was the perpetual license, Flex the subscription.

Now they are exactly the same except Flex (now Ultimate Subscription) is $600, not $1000, but Ultimate (Perpetual) is still $400 p.a. for support.

I would personally like Avid to acknowledge the outlay that perpetual license holders have spent with them over the years. Two approaches would be 1) lower the support plan to $300 p.a. or 2) Offer the subscription switch over for $400 p.a. with a guarantee it remains the same for x number of years (like 5+)**.
Otherwise I am not interested.

(* loads of stuff I had no use for, really)

(** not holding my breath here)

By way of contrast Logic has made me just as much money in the last 10 years and cost me $200. I know Apple sell Logic as a loss-leader to get people to buy Macs, but still... my Avid software spend in the last 10 years has been $4k (and $30k in hardware).
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2022, 08:37 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,879
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

hilarious thread. and very good serious summary by uptheoctave.
I especially agree with the pricing observations, although even a reduced price of $300 rather than $400 seems high for simple annual updates.

I managed to purchase an Ultimate Perpetual reinstatement last year from a 3rd party dealer using one of my old PT11HD licenses for only $444. I banked it, and still have the code ready to activate.
I might just activate that rather than spend $400 on the "support" plan, or I might even use yet another of my old licenses and see if my audio dealer can do it again. At least I'd have full licenses for more systems and convenience, without juggling iLoks around - for an extra $44.

Paying $400 for updates that seem to always bring back twice the number of old bugs than what gets fixed with each build is getting really tired. The day after every release it seems the DUC starts filling up with bugs that came back from the dead. Avid sound like they've given up, and simply attempt to placate all us loyal users with more useless "free" content, rather than for example making all the additional Avid plugins and Air licenses permanent.

And yet again, as if I need to point it out, we still don't have an M1 Native macOS Code Build. It doesn't appear very ultimate or flexible to me.

Last edited by Tweakhead; 11-18-2022 at 08:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2022, 08:40 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by noah330 View Post
I have Ultimate at $400/yr. I still don’t understand what the difference is.
Appears there is no difference for those of us on the Annual Update/Support renewal plan still $399 a year

The only "change" is for those who are on the Annual "Subscription" plan now $599 a year down from $999
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2022, 09:15 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,137
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

This reminds me of Microsoft constantly renaming their products for no reason.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2022, 09:30 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,879
Default Re: Pro Tools Flex Renaming Back To Ultimate

Maybe they can change it again by the end of the day to "Pro Tools Inflexible" and "Pro Tools Penultimate"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Flex Is Now Pro Tools Ultimate—at a More Affordable Price Avid Technical Alerts 0 11-17-2022 11:54 PM
Pro tools Flex / ultimate 1year subscription $$$ ericlees Buy & Sell 0 06-25-2022 09:11 PM
PT Ultimate 2020.5 + HD Native + Omni not playing back jzzbassss Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 12-28-2021 02:53 AM
best way to move Ultimate sessions from HDX to Carbon and back again? MixerGuy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-01-2021 04:12 PM
Batch Renaming only renaming clip, not disk file polyh3dron Pro Tools 2018 3 07-28-2019 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com