Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2021, 05:55 AM
darkell darkell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Chalford UK
Posts: 6
Default MTRX Studio and Omni

Thinking of upgrading to MTRX studio. Earlier threads suggest I can use the two (omni and MTRX) together. I use the AES and optical outputs on the omni but have noticed that these are missing form the MTRX. I would rather sell the omni and only use the MTRX, any suggestions? Also If I keep the omni I would have 5 interfaces (omni, MTRX, 3 HD I/Os) will this work with 1 HDX card? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2021, 06:17 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,258
Default Re: MTRX Studio and Omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkell View Post
Also If I keep the omni I would have 5 interfaces (omni, MTRX, 3 HD I/Os) will this work with 1 HDX card? Thanks.
No
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF ProMac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2021, 10:21 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,944
Default Re: MTRX Studio and Omni

I would recommend getting rid of the OMNI and adding an Audinate AVIO -> AES3 adapter which is very handy at bridging AES/EBU over IP Audio:
https://www.audinate.com/products/da...-avio-aes3-ebu

You could then choose to keep 2 HD IO’s (if you so choose) attached to the 2nd port of the HDX card. The first port would provide you with 32 channels of bidirectional audio between MTRX Studio and Pro Tools. Beyond the 16+ channels of Analog, you could choose to employ Dante in addition to ADAT optical.

Best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between MTRX and MTRX Studio? snowplaysmusic Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 4 11-26-2022 09:48 AM
quick question about the mtrx studio and omni TrackerLe Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 4 05-25-2022 01:19 PM
MTRX Studio Philharmonic7 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 15 08-23-2021 04:16 PM
MTRX Studio tuning v MTRX SQP card Goombot Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 9 07-15-2021 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com