Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2020, 04:41 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 294
Default quick question about the mtrx studio and omni

Hello


Can i use an Omni and a MTRX Studio in the same HDX setup and the same time?


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2020, 07:11 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,947
Default Re: quick question about the mtrx studio and omni

Absolutely. With a single HDX or HDN card you could simply connect a 32 channel DigiLink cable from MTRX Studio as well as one from HD Omni to HDX / HDN. The only limitation in this scenario would be limiting the number of Dante or other digital channels you are exchanging with your Pro Tools engine card since you are connecting 32/64 possible. This could be 16 analog IO, 8 ADAT, and 8 Dante as one example scenario.

Let me know if you have any further questions.


best,


Jeff





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2022, 06:32 AM
mahler007 mahler007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 318
Default Re: quick question about the mtrx studio and omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Absolutely. With a single HDX or HDN card you could simply connect a 32 channel DigiLink cable from MTRX Studio as well as one from HD Omni to HDX / HDN. The only limitation in this scenario would be limiting the number of Dante or other digital channels you are exchanging with your Pro Tools engine card since you are connecting 32/64 possible. This could be 16 analog IO, 8 ADAT, and 8 Dante as one example scenario.

Let me know if you have any further questions.

best,

Jeff
A related question, Jeff, or for anyone else who knows...

I am currently using a MTRX Studio with an old Lynx Aurora 16 LT-HD via Avid's Thunderbolt interface. It works great. I also have an old HD Omni sitting around collecting dust.

Is there any way I can add the Omni into this setup for an additional 4-in/8-out channels of AD/DA? All said and done, it would be a total of 36-in/ 40 out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2022, 09:52 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,266
Default Re: quick question about the mtrx studio and omni

Digilink 1 to MTRX Studio
Digilink 2 to Omni
Omni expansion port to Lynx
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF ProMac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2022, 01:19 PM
mahler007 mahler007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 318
Default Re: quick question about the mtrx studio and omni

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Digilink 1 to MTRX Studio
Digilink 2 to Omni
Omni expansion port to Lynx
Thanks BScout! Yes, I thought of something like this right after I posted. I even have an old LT-ADAT card for the Aurora, so I will be figuring this out soon...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio i/o Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 9 02-21-2021 09:17 AM
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 23 02-23-2020 03:13 PM
Quick Avid Omni and 192io question KGraham045 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 07-09-2015 01:08 AM
Omni Users: Quick Question gtomassetti macOS 2 04-15-2013 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com