Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2017, 04:23 PM
MadeOneUp MadeOneUp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: No
Posts: 1
Default Digidesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Hi, I'm just wondering if its possible to use a 192 with a machine running pro tools 12 HD and a Native PCIe Card?

From my research, it seems that as long as the 192 is up to date it should communicate with the native card. I'm just wondering, is 12 HD gonna throw a wrench into everything?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2017, 04:31 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,611
Default Re: DigiDesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadeOneUp View Post
Hi, I'm just wondering if its possible to use a 192 with a machine running pro tools 12 HD and a Native PCIe Card?

From my research, it seems that as long as the 192 is up to date it should communicate with the native card. I'm just wondering, is 12 HD gonna throw a wrench into everything?
yes, will work fine.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2017, 05:06 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,780
Default Re: DigiDesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadeOneUp View Post
Hi, I'm just wondering if its possible to use a 192 with a machine running pro tools 12 HD and a Native PCIe Card?

From my research, it seems that as long as the 192 is up to date it should communicate with the native card. I'm just wondering, is 12 HD gonna throw a wrench into everything?
as drew says, yes .. but remember you will need the Adapter to the newer Digilink Connector on the HDnative .. it is a smaller connector ..
__________________
Macmini M1 8/512 -OS 12.3.1 and PT2022.4
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS11.6.5 - PT 2021.3
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2017, 05:33 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default Re: DigiDesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
as drew says, yes .. but remember you will need the Adapter to the newer Digilink Connector on the HDnative .. it is a smaller connector ..
That adapter SHOULD come with the card(they do when you purchase the card new) Running a 192 here as well, along side of a pair of HD IO boxes and all is dandy
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2017, 08:15 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,523
Default Re: DigiDesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Yep. A 192 here as well. Works fine.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2017, 12:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,532
Default Re: DigiDesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadeOneUp View Post
Hi, I'm just wondering if its possible to use a 192 with a machine running pro tools 12 HD and a Native PCIe Card?

From my research, it seems that as long as the 192 is up to date it should communicate with the native card. I'm just wondering, is 12 HD gonna throw a wrench into everything?
Hi, welcome to the forum.

As already mentioned, Avid keeps a list of officially supported stuff, but if something isn't on it chances are it works just as before (without support for it).

The only thing changed on the DigiLink system is the connector. The fact that there is a (passive) adapter available kind of guarantees that the blue interfaces will continue working for a long time.

With that said, four 192's and one 96 working very well here :)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2017, 12:16 PM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 574
Default Re: DigiDesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

If anyone is interested in mixing older with newer I'm running an HD Omni with a 192 Digital along with a Native PCIe in an expansion chassis with 12.7

Works killer!!
__________________
Apple M1 Mac Studio (base model)
HD Native PCI-e in an Echo Express SE 1 chassis
HD Omni with SSL XLogic MADI-AX and MADI-HD

Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/sparkletune/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2017, 03:32 PM
MacPowerUser MacPowerUser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3
Default Re: DigiDesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Does this mean that I can upgrade to Pro Tools HD 12 (from PT HD 10) with my 192 (and 96i) and my current PCIe Accel card with only an adapter?
Please someone confirm this. I need to upgrade to PTHD12 and keep my 192 unit if possible.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2017, 04:04 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default Re: DigiDesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacPowerUser View Post
Does this mean that I can upgrade to Pro Tools HD 12 (from PT HD 10) with my 192 (and 96i) and my current PCIe Accel card with only an adapter?
Please someone confirm this. I need to upgrade to PTHD12 and keep my 192 unit if possible.
The 192 and 96 will work. The old Accel card will not
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2017, 07:59 AM
MacPowerUser MacPowerUser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3
Default Re: Digidesign 192 I/O w/ Avid PCIe Native HD Card Running Pro Tools 12

Thanks, Albee.
But, what DO I need card wise? What kind of card do I need to replace my PCIe Accel Core with that will work in my situation?
(Keeping my 192 and upgrading to Pro Tools HD 12).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Avid Pro Tools HD Native PCIe Card - London UK Neil H Buy & Sell 0 04-18-2016 04:03 AM
WTB - Avid HD Native pcie card Barry Johns Buy & Sell 0 11-25-2015 10:28 PM
Avid Digidesign Pro Tools HD1 PCIe Accel Core card with HD 9 + 96 io TMJRecordings Buy & Sell 0 09-18-2015 11:18 AM
FS: Avid HD Native PCIe Card drumster Buy & Sell 1 07-31-2015 07:01 AM
Avid HD Native PCIe Card Loudnoize Ent. Buy & Sell 2 11-29-2014 04:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com