Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2011, 11:29 AM
rmiller9969 rmiller9969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: rockledge, fl
Posts: 5
Default Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works...

I got Protools 8.05 up and running smooth (kinda) and the Mbox-2 records input and works great for any sounds on my computer except protools.

In the Mbox control panel it says "hardware not connected" and "not streaming" next to it at the bottom. When I open the driver it shows that 2 out of 4 drivers did not install properly. I have uninstalled and reinstalled and I keep getting problems with the drivers? My problem seems a little different than the normal, "lights on no sound." I am geting sound, just not from protools output.

Yes, I have done ALL optimizations, I run everything as admin, i have an external harddrive, I know how to set up the outputs etc. Like I said, the sound works, just not through PT 8.05 Please help guys, It took me 4 days just to get this close and this seems like an easy fix I would imagine with the drivers.


My computer: Sony VAIO, Windows 7, I can post all the technical jargon when I get home but I am at work on a seperate computer.

Processor
• Processor Type: Intel® Pentium™ B940
• Processor Technology: Dual Core
• Processor Speed: 2.00GHz1
• Processor Cache: 2MB
Display
• Screen Size: 15.5"
• Resolution: 1366 x 768
• Backlight Technology: LED
Memory
• Installed Memory: 4GB (2GB x 2)
• Memory Type/Speed: DDR3/1333MHz
• Max. Memory: 8GB
Graphics
• Graphics Processor: Intel® HD Graphics
• Graphics Video RAM: Internal5
Storage
• Storage Type: Serial ATA
• Storage Capacity: 500GB4
• Storage Technology: 5400rpm
Optical Drive
• Optical Drive Type: CD/DVD Player / Burner
• Optical Drive Support - CD/DVD: Read / Write
Hardware
• Camera: Built-in MOTION EYE® camera and microphone
• Keyboard: QWERTY, 103 keys with 2.0mm stroke and 19.05mm pitch
• 10-Key Numeric Pad: Yes
Audio
• Sound System: Intel® High Definition Audio
Inputs and Outputs
• DC-In: 1
• USB 2.0: 4
• VGA Output(s): 1
• Headphone Output: 1
• Microphone Input: 1
• Secure Digital (SD) Slot: 1
• HDMI™ Output(s): 1
• Memory Stick Duo™: 1
Wireless/Networking
• Ethernet Protocol: 1000BASE-T/100BASE-TX/10BASE-T
• WiFi Adapter: Atheros® 802.11b/g/n
Software
• Operating System: Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium with Service Pack 1 64-bit
• Supplied Software: Microsoft® Office Starter with reduced-functionality versions of Word and Excel6, VAIO
Care™, Media Gallery™, PMB - VAIO Edition
• Anti-Virus Software: Norton Internet Security™ 2011 30-Day Trial Offer11
Service and Warranty Information
• Toll-Free Phone Support: 888-476-69727
• Onsite/In-Home Service: Yes12
• International Service: Yes
• Limited Warranty Term: 1 Year
• Priority Phone Support: 239-768-76057
Environmental Information
• ENERGY STAR®: 5.0
• EPEAT™: Gold
• ROHS®: Compliant
Weights and Measurements
• Dimensions (Approx.): 14.56" (W) x 1.24" - 1.45" (H) x 9.78" (D)
• Weight (Approx.): 5.97 lbs. (with Standard Battery)
General
• Action Buttons: VAIO, ASSIST, WEB, Wireless On/Off
• Pointing Device: Touchpad (Gesture supported)
Power
• Battery Type: Standard Lithium Ion Battery (4000mAh)
• DVD Playback: Up to 3 hours9
• Default Brightness: Up to 4.5 hours9
• Maximum Brightness: Up to 4.5 hours9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2011, 11:56 AM
rmiller9969 rmiller9969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: rockledge, fl
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works...

If I install the drivers for PT 9 will it work? I've never dealt with software/hardware that was so difficult. It's 2011, can't we just plug and play.

http://secure.digidesign.com/service...&localeCode=en
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2011, 02:10 PM
rmiller9969 rmiller9969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: rockledge, fl
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works...

Anybody?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2011, 04:40 PM
Michael_Knight Michael_Knight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Odenton MD
Posts: 91
Default Re: Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works...

Which two drivers didn't install. Also you probably already checked but make sure that the mbox is set to be your sound card for playback in windows and check your monitor and mix knobs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2011, 08:43 AM
rmiller9969 rmiller9969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: rockledge, fl
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works...

Honestly I can't remember. I beleive it was the Firmware and one other.

However, now I have a new problem. I uninstalled everything from the mbox 2 and reinstalled using the most updated drivers that I could find from my post above and now... I can still hear everything other than protools fine but now I don't have an mbox control panel anywhere to see if the "hardware not connected, not streaming" is still there. I'm gonna smash my stuff.

Thanksfor recommending the things you did, but I tried those all and the mbox is showing up as my output for my computer just not in pro tools.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2011, 08:48 AM
rmiller9969 rmiller9969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: rockledge, fl
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works...

Somebody please help me.

I will have about 4 hrs free tonight to try and get this up and going.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2011, 08:14 PM
Michael_Knight Michael_Knight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Odenton MD
Posts: 91
Default Re: Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works...

when you re-installed the software was the Mbox plugged in? It needs to be unplugged during the software install and then plug it in.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2011, 05:13 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: Mbox 2, Input works, sound for non-protools works...

In Pro Tools Setup>Playback Engine, is Mbox showing as playback engine?

If you haven't done so already, I would try re-installing drivers (yes the ones from your link in earlier post) with Mbox switched off the whole time (even if prompted to switch Mbox on) then reboot with it switched on. Watch for a notice stating computer is installing drivers for your hardware then "a notice saying "your hardware is ready to use".

Before you do that though, go to Control Panel>Device Manager>Sound Video and Game Controllers.
Double click anything showing up relating to Mbox one at a time and select... Driver Tab>Uninstall OK and reboot then carry out step above.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z690 AERO D
CPU: Intel Alder Lake Core i9-12900K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15S
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB (2x 32gb 5200MHz)
Drives: 2 x Samsung 980 Pro 2TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (Record & Samples)
1 x Samsung 980 Pro 1TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (OS Win 11 Pro)

GPU:Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3060 12GB GDDR6 PCIE 4
PSU: Corsair HX Series HX850 Platinim
CASE: Fractal Define XL R2
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif <> AxeFxIII
HD 96I/O
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2, no sound in firefox, but works in IE Dbere General Discussion 2 10-13-2009 05:32 PM
mbox, ibook, protools- sounds works intermittently vicsclipse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-22-2006 06:36 PM
MBOX/Protools 6.7 works only once after install deedz remix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-28-2004 09:07 AM
It Works! My Protools system works!!! Woooooo Hooooo!! Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-19-2003 09:48 AM
usb input device that works w/ Sound Manager rossbf Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 03-24-2001 04:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com